Banana Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I did half brown, half white sugar and added a 1/4 cup of sour cream and one extra banana and used a glaze on top. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Had mixed success with this one. I used only brown sugar in the amount indicated, and that might be the problem. Wife suggested needs to be sweeter, stick with white sugar (however, note that in many reviews of this dish a ½ brown and white sugar mix is used and suggested). Also we don't use nuts because my son can have a non-tolerant reaction to them. But he didn't even finish his first slice. Wife thinks there's too much backing powder, "I can taste it try cutting it in half". I didn't even know baking powder had a taste. I still don't. Wife did say something that hints on were to go with this. She noted that, "...muffin-like breads like this loaf can be tricky". As you make this dish, try keeping that hint in mind. For example are raisins a good addition? And any tricks you have to help keep a muffin from becoming a heavy blob, they might need to be put in play here. I've given the dish a 4 star because I do like it. But, again, it's trickier than a rooky baker might want to take on. And that's just my story, "Rooky baker takes on more than family can chew".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I used self-rising flour because it was all I had and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This easy to make bread is moist and flavorful. I made it in an 8x8 dish and cooked for about 40 min. I subbed chocolate chips for nuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This was the best banana bread I've ever had. I added an extra banana, a bit of cinnamon and some chocolate chips. It's incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, and subsituted whole wheat flour for all purpose flour and it tuned out great. Still moist and tasty-oh I added chocolate chips instead of walnuts. I have also made muffins with this recipe, 12 muffins bake for 25-27 minutes (with whole wheat flour). Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
good as banana nut bread can be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This banana bread was absolutly wonderful! Just what a chilly Alaska evening ordered. It is also good w/ 1/2 cup chololate chips instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Queen.Elizabeth.02
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made this loaf back in June and forgot to rate it! I was very very very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen.Elizabeth.02

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States