Banana Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
My family got this recipe from an elderly neighbor we adopted as "Grandma" about 50 yrs. ago. She probably got it from her mother, who got it from her mother. It's been made for generations, because it's sooo good. The only difference is that Grandma's recipe calls for 1 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1 tsp. of cinnamon. If you use salted butter, omit the 1/2 tsp. of salt. I don't use nuts, but I do add at least a cup of plumped raisins. Raisins are a natural preservative, so this bread stays fresh for days without refrigeration. I bake it in an 8" x 8" Pyrex baking dish at 350 deg. for about 1 hour. If you cover it as soon as it cools, it will stay very fresh and moist. I cut it into 3/4" slices and then cut those into thirds. I tried Grandma's recipe the other day with one cup of Miller's bran and about 1/4 cup of buttermilk added to it. It didn't change the taste at all, but it made it heartier and a little chewier. My boyfriend said it was the perfect snack on a very difficult 8-hour bicycle ride. He shared a piece with a co-rider who said it was good enough to be sold in stores. He was going to share some with other riders, but decided he like it too much to share! It tastes better each day, especially warmed for 10 seconds in the microwave, with a little butter. I've printed out several recipes from this site for banana bread that I'm going to try, but I'll be surprised if I find one that I like better than Grandma's, especially with the added Miller's bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was a huge hit with my friends! The only change I made was to use half brown sugar and half white sugar for a bit more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
very soft, and delicious! I did do the half brown sugar and half white. Also added some cinnamon and vanilla. I did have a hard time with the outside almost burning but the inside not being ready.. Not sure what rack to put it on in the oven. But taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by someflymom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I've made this recipe at least 15 times now. I follow it to the T, and I love how it tastes. Make sure the bananas are very overripe though - it adds a lot to the flavor and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Lost my wonderful Banana Loaf recipe so tried this one. I must say it is really good. I skipped the nuts as my husband likes his banana loaf as is... he asked for a second slice! I toasted the slice and served with a slab of butter. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
So far, the best banana bread recipe I've tried! I love that it's very simple. I have an infant, so I don't have a lot of time to bake--which I love doing--but this recipe makes it totally possible to make something really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieWendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I add a few more bananas and more butter to keep it super moist with more banana taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
i have made this counless times. it is wonderful and has a great banana taste. make sure to use ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ayr, Ayrshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Out of this world! Didn't change a thing. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
OMG. I love this recipe, and my kids love it too. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States