Banana Loaf Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2000
The best banana flavor of any I've tried. Took some to work & got recipe requests. I baked in a bundt pan & put a lite glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Using a cake mix and pudding mix makes this recipe WAY too sweet for me, although I really did like the flavor..Very banana-y!! If you are looking for something like banana bread, though, this may not be the one for you. If you are looking for a sweet, sweet cake, you will probably love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I was expecting more of a banana flavor. The batter was quite flavorful, and when this was baking it smelled excellent! However, the banana flavor just didn't come through as much as I thought it would. Next time I'm going to add banana extract, too. I liked that this was very easy to make and moist - it's definitely a cake and not a quick bread! I added vanilla and cinnamon to the batter, although I would leave out nuts next time. This is a pretty versatile recipe - add coconut or rum, increase banana flavor, add strawberies or chocolate chips. They would all probably produce interesting variations. For muffins pour 1/3 cup batter into lined muffin tins and bake 30 minutes (sea level) at 350F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
deliciously moist! this taste so good, but I made a few changes, I put 6 teaspoons of Ener-G egg replacer in w/ the 1 cup of water, and I used 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the oil. I am going to make this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I was so surprised to find this recipe on the site. I've been making it since I was a teenager - always a family favorite. My teenagers love it. Great for snacking on, having with tea or coffee, bringing to brunches, it travels well in the car and always, always, always stays moist. 1 small banana is all you need and it turns out perfect every time. Glad to see someone post this valued family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is a surprisingly good cake. I froze one of the loaves and had the other right away. After thawing the other loaf after a month, it was as moist as the original. An excellent recipe that I will use over and over. Thank you Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Show Low Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rotonda West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
loved it. Better than fresh baked banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloversville, New York, USA
Living In: Clyde, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I scoured this Web site for days looking for a banana cake recipe to test for my son's birthday coming up. He is banana CRAZY (and I'm not exaggerating!!). I used a Ducan Hines butter yellow cake mix and made it to package directions all except for instead of using water for the mix I used milk but half the amount, then added 3 mashed bananas, and the pudding mix. The cupcakes were so moist they FELL IN in the middle. They didn't even need icing, but I made homemade cream cheese icing anyway (8 oz cream cheese, 1 stick softened butter, 1 box powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla) and sprinkled them with chopped pecans. I sent the leftovers to daycare with Jacob and the kids devoured them! These will DEFINITELY be at his birthday party coming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacobAllensMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is a really good, moist cake. I use 3 bananas, or about 1 cup mashed. I have also substituted a chocolate cake mix for the yellow called for in the recipe; and have used instant vanilla or french vanilla pudding. I too omit the nuts. When using the chocolate cake mix, I sprinkle powdered sugar on the finished cake; or sprinkle brown sugar on the yellow cake before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Super Yummy, the best banana bread I've ever had!!!! Very easy to make, moist, and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States