Banana Loaf Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
What a success!!! This recipe was delicious. I didn't have any 'over ripe' bananas, so i used 4 instead of the recommended 3. I also covered the top with foil for the last 15 minutes which slightly steamed the loaf and made it deliciously moist!! Will be making this one again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
The banana bread is delicious! With the 1 cup of sugar, i halved it using half white sugar and half brown sugar and it came out yummy! Definitely make this again =) Paradise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I make banana bread all the time and I'm always looking for a new banana bread recipe. This one is not it. "Banana Cake" is misleading because it did not have a cake-like texture to me. It was yet another average bland banana bread recipe. The exterior gets too overdone and brown while the inside was rather dry. This is not a recipe that is different enough to stand out among all my other banana bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This banana bread is awesome! I used 4 bananas, and added about 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and a couple of handfulls of chopped walnuts. I did have to bake it for about 1 hour and 10 minutes, but it was well worth the wait. I took it out of the oven about 20 minutes ago, and it's almost gone! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
What a great recipe. I've never had banana cake, and to me this tasted just like banana bread--which is exactly what I wanted. It had a great banana flavor, and was perfect for breakfast. I also cut down on the sugar (to about 3/4 a cup) and it was perfect for my taste. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I have been making banana bread/cake for about 25 years and this is the best I've ever found. My kids (4 & 5) love making it w/ me - it's a great kid friendly recipe. If I serve it for breakfast I serve it as is, sometimes w/ butter. For dessert I make a powder sugar or cream cheese glaze (depends on what I have on hand) and pour on top of it while it is still warm (not hot)- this is my husband's favorite way to eat it. The glaze makes it more of a "cake" but still not overly sweet like regular frosted cake. Thank you Sandi for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Tasty! I made one change--I cut the sugar back by half. I had a two-pack package of Nature's Valley Oats and Honey that I crushed up and sprinkled over the top before baking, just to use it and get it out of my pantry. I'm glad I cut the sugar by half. My bananas were really ripe, if I hadn't it would have been way too sweet. Nice basic banana bread recipe. I got 12 medium sized muffins out of this recipe. 350* for 20 minutes was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Absoluiely Delish....made a few changes but this must be the best banana bread I ever ate, Used half whole wheat flour and added pecans, used half spenda instead of all sugar, will cut down on sugar next time, thought it was a tad bit too sweet, thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
The recipe was great! Like one other reviewer here, I thought it was a bit sweet but then that's a personal taste. Next time I'll cut the sugar out a bit. The texture and consistency was terrific. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is BY FAR the best recipie I have ever used, and very somple to make too! My family eats it up within hours! I also made this in my bunt pan and drizzled a peanut butter icing over top for a cake....supper yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States