Banana Loaf Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
So moist and easy to prepare! I replaced the 1 cup of sugar with 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda. I used 2 very 'expired' large bananas and sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar on top before baking. Save yourself some time and forget the baking powder and soda...just use self rising flour instead. I baked this in a glass pyrex dish lined with non-stick baking paper, so easy to remove and clean. I will definitely make this again, in fact I have some very ripe bananas waiting in the freezer for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I give this recipe 4 star. However, I suggest that anyone using this recipe can modify as follows: Instead of using sugar, add one more egg and 10grams (1 tablespoon) of granulated coffee,1/4 cup chopped almonds and 2 tablespoon of grated 90% dark cholocate. This will help those on sugar free diet or watching the calories - I personally think their is enough bananas to help the taste. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Wow, this turned out GREAT and MOIST! I did use 4 banana's instead of 3 and added 5 teaspoons of cocoa powder. I baked it in a bunt pan and 8 minutes less than the recipe called for and my god it is moist and tastes wonderful! Thanks for the recipe. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Great, wonderfull banana bread, you can add a lot of diferent ingredientas. I will make a lot of recipes from this one, from banana bread to banana chocolate chip cinnamon cake, etc. This cake has the simplicity we need to expand our creativity in the kitchen. I will make 10 cakes today for a dinner at church. I'm sure they will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I'm not sure what happened to my cake. It turns out too dry at the outer layer but the inner layer was ok. the outer layer was dry and crispy. Can anyone help me with this matter? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is BY FAR the best recipie I have ever used, and very somple to make too! My family eats it up within hours! I also made this in my bunt pan and drizzled a peanut butter icing over top for a cake....supper yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
What really attracted me to this recipe was the simplicity of the ingredient list - basic items which can easily be found in the kitchen! Cake turned out really yummy; I substituted about 50g of the sugar with brown sugar, and added some chocolate chips and walnut pieces as well. A definite keeper, I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Hi I have cooked this cake several times and each time it is a hit with everyone. I am now given bananas just so I will make it. This is the simpliest cake I have made and tastes fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
i loved this cake!so did my family members who popped in for coffee the same day.i added flaked almonds. will have to make it again,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Fantastic recipie. I wanted to eat the whole thing but, of course, I didn't. The cake is a little on the heavier side but still wonderful. I made only a few minor changes. I used 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup. Next time I will use 1/2 cup sugar. I added some chopped walnuts and some golden raisins. What a company dessert this would be dished with some vanilla ice cream. Bravo on this one. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSROSYROSU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States