Banana Loaf Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, the Loaf came out great, and this is the first time ever that i've baked! Now my wife wants me to make it as often as possible. I used half the sugar requirement, coz it was a little on the sweet side;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I wish I could compare this recipe to the other banana bread/loaf/cake recipes on this site but this recipe is so awesome, I have not even tried any others. I make this banana loaf at least once a month for the last few years. I don't adjust the recipe at all, though I often double it. It is delicious and moist- the right amount of sweet and flavor. So simple and easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gravylegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
i made this recipe and i forgot the sugar lol and my husband told me it just need a tad more sugar and i told him that i forgot it and he told me it taste great for no sugar :) for all of the banana loaf i made even without the sugar this recipe was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
My husband and son said this was the best banana bread they have ever tasted. It was a big hit. I will be baking it again the second I get some overripe bananas... I wouldn't call it "cake" either. It's more like traditional banana bread. ADAPTS - I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, as someone suggested, and I used 4 bananas (which I had in the freezer, so they were not only full of flavour but they were mashed already and pretty-much ready to go when I peeled them). I will do this again next time. Thank you Sandi! ** 18 MONTHS LATER ** This is still the only banana bread recipe I use. Everyone loves it... Three things - Add 1/2 tsp cinnamon, Split the 1 cup sugar with 1/2 brown + 1/2 white... TODAY I MADE MUFFINS AND WANTED TO SHARE COOK TIMES: 1- medium muffin tin, batter half full - 16 minutes 2 - large/xl muffin tin, batter 2/3 full - 32 minutes Delicious as muffins and easier to put in kids' lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greelyhamiltons

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Usually I'm not a big fan of banana cake but this is so good. The cake was very moist and the taste was perfectly balanced. For some reasons my cake didn't came out as puffy as I thought it would be. Or maybe it's supposed to be like that. Will definitely make it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My 22-year-old son discovered this and made it as a treat for me. It is, quite simply, delicious! Very moist, quick & easy. As another poster mentioned, the only change I made was from 1 cup sugar to 1/2 cup. This get 2 enthusiastic thumbs up from me. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This wasn't one of my favorites. I read other reviews and reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. I also used 100% madagascar vanilla instead of imitation vanilla. I'm not sure if that caused a huge difference, but this tasted weird to me. I will try it again and stick to the recipe. Also, it definitely didn't require 50 minutes. I left it in for 30 and it was slightly scorched. Oh, but I used a mini loaf pan which made 9 mini loafs. I know...I changed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Moist and delicious and simple. I used one extra banana, and I covered the loaf with foil for the last ~10 mins of baking. I made this when my boyfriend was craving a store bought banana loaf cake, he thought this was better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
A great cake! very delicious, moist, wonderful smell. I didn't have butter so I added 2 tablespoons of yogurt and 1/4 vegetable oil; also I added some lemon zest. PERFECT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now, the first time my friend ate it all, i added a vanilla glaze which was a bit sweet, but still an excellent banana loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States