Banana Loaf Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Unbelievable recipe.. Hands down the best banana cake/bread EVER!! I added a pinch of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and an extra half teaspoon vanilla. Smashing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I wanted to try making a gluten free banana loaf for my 15-month old son since he has a serious wheat allergy. I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup, subbed the AP flour with gluten free AP baking flour, and I added 1/4 cup sour cream too. When I mixed the ingredients all together it felt a little too wet to me so I added a little more flour. I baked the loaf to close to 50 mins. The loaf came out pretty tasty! It doesn't taste gluten free! It was quite moist and not too sweet. Hopefully my little one will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is a good basic recipe with a pure banana flavor. It has a great cake texture, less dense than bread. My son won't eat nuts so this recipe was perfect for our home! I may put a foil tent over the top for the first 30 mins. or so because it did brown a bit too much on top as other reviews mention. I'll keep this recipe around and use it when my bananas look sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I was drawn to this recipe because a) it uses 3 overripe bananas, which I had and b) the pic showed muffins, which I thought I would make. In the end, though, I made a 5x9 loaf. I added 1/4 c. each chocolate and peanut butter chips. I also used 1/2 c white and 1/2 c brown sugar as suggested by another reviewer. Within an hour of coming out of the oven my 5x9 had become 5x2, and I was asked to make this again. Many thanks for an easy recipe, Sandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
loved this, lots of banana flavour, very light texture and so easy to make. My only change was to use 1/2 a cup of white sugar and 1/2 a cup of brown sugar. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Great recipe- Used 4 banana's to add moisture and added a tbsp of cinamon. also, used half cup brown, half cup white sugar...i've added chocolate chips or butterscotch chips, just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great recipe! Easy to make and tastes lovely. I switched the quantities of of baking soda and powder and used only 2 very ripe bananas for a milder flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
excellent taste, perfect banana bread but the bake time should only be 30 mins not 50-60 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Tasty! I made one change--I cut the sugar back by half. I had a two-pack package of Nature's Valley Oats and Honey that I crushed up and sprinkled over the top before baking, just to use it and get it out of my pantry. I'm glad I cut the sugar by half. My bananas were really ripe, if I hadn't it would have been way too sweet. Nice basic banana bread recipe. I got 12 medium sized muffins out of this recipe. 350* for 20 minutes was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
The best banana cake! Easy and all ingredients are in your pantry! I will be making this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States