Banana Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Deep fried banana bread drops are how I'd describe these. Tasted fine, but I think for the end result to taste pretty much like banana bread, I'll just skip the deep frying and make a banana bread loaf. I did roll them in sugar after frying and lightly dusted with powdered sugar for effect. Would suggest to only fry about 1 TBSP drops at the most at a time so that they cook throughout. And the suggestion to just let them turn themselves is a good one! Not my favorite recipe, but always fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were really good! The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because I added about 1 tsp of vanilla and 3 tbsps of sugar, so I'm not sure how the unchanged version is. The important thing is to allow the dough to turn on its own in the fryer. If you just watch them as they are cooking, you'll see that they turn on their own, and when they are a nice golden brown, just take them out. I had no problems with doughiness or being undercooked with this method, nor did they burn. I didn't have any powdered suger, so I omitted it, but they were good on their own, and sweet enough. My hubby and 2-year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I made these for my husband. He did not care for them. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious! My 8 year old wants me to make them every school day for breakfast and it's still June. Doubled the recipe. Used dried eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Very Good redipe, I've made it several times and my mother always buys bananas just so I can make it! I have experimented with adding peanut butter chips, all I can say is AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is the first fritter recipe we've ever made and we liked it. I agree with the caution of making them too large or the inside will be under-cooked. It helped to have two people frying/turning because they browned quickly. After the oil temp was right, we had to turn it down because they burned quickly. Our bananas were old and yet we thought they needed to be more sweet, so we dipped them in syrup! Wonder if another banana would've helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is a great way to use up that last banana that's getting a little too ripe. My whole family loves this. It makes a nice desert or breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I thought it was so delicious, but if you don't keep them in long enough its still really doughy in the middle, and if you leave them in too long they burn on the outside. But they were really delicious, i loved the puffiness of them they were a perfect snack for my 1 year old.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leahnbrirose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very good recipe! I added more bananas, 4...also added vanilla and a small amount of white sugar and a dash of cinnamon. When they were out of the oil, I sprinkled with powder sugar...YUM! My whole family loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMMLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
It was ok ... just add another 1/2 cup of milk, because the batter is really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM OF 3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States