Banana Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I was looking for a recipe for banana fritters b/c my husband grew up on them. His family is Haitian and this is a traditional thing they make. I couldn't use his mother's recipe b/c her measurements were not exact. It was a little bit of this and a little bit of that. I thought this was a good recipe, but I would add more sugar to the batter. My husband and I both agree that it needed more bananas. I think that if you like it for a desert, more sugar would be appropriate. It also depends how much you like bananas. We like the taste of bananas to be very strong and noticable. Also, I tried a previous suggestion and piped it out of a bag. The oil was way too hot and they came out like burned funnel cakes. After the first attempt, I used less heat and transfered the batter to a bowl and used a 1/3 measuring cup as my spoon. The looked just like his moms. With more sugar and more banana, I would make this a five star recipe! (I also only use overripe bananas so avoid having to throw them out. They also seem to be more sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Great snack, easy to make. I used far less than 2 qts. of oil. They came out like banana fritter donut holes. My husband couldn't stop eating them. If you don't have ripe bananas on hand, pop the top on an underripe banana and nuke it for 15-20 seconds or so, they mash right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
When I told my husband I was making banana fritters for dessert, he looked at me like I had two heads and said, "O.K. Whatever." After tasting a few he exclaimed, "These are fantastic!" They are a perfect little dessert when you don't want to spend a lot of time preparing and/or shopping because all of the ingredients are on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
These were great! I tried them first with bananas, then i substituted applesauce for the bananas and my family could not get enough of these! Will definately use this recipe alot! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Very tasty...not too banana-y. One thing - the oil at 375F was too hot, start at 325F and work from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
These are delicious! When I make these again, I'll probably try adding a bit more cinnamon and banana. I did as a previous reviewer suggested and placed the mixture into a ziploc bag and piped it in spirals into the hot oil. The result was a nice circular spiral that looked awfully close to a donut, minus the hole in the middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
i made these with overripe bananas and canned crushed pineapple...they were awesome!...my kids couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This recipe was ok but I thought it was a little bland, even though I doubled the cinnamon. I might try it again by adding another half of a banana, more cinnamon and perhaps nutmeg. Good texture though and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Blizzard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
It was fine and the texture was just right, but I used nowhere near 1 quart of oil and the banana flavor was barely detectable as Chevonne said. Based on that and other people's comments of blandness, I upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and added an extra banana. Wonderful. Beyond that, just some tips: a) A piping bag isn't really necessary. The trick is to drop the right amount of batter in the oil all at once, otherwise you get these strings and odd shapes. I used on overfilled gravy ladle and let a dollop drop in. b) Eggs and milk should be room temp or you risk having a browned outside but uncooked middle. c) Use a lower temp. All stoves are different, so do a test batch at 325 first, then adjust. I ended up using 275 to avoid browning too fast and cooking everything in the middle. d) Don't overcrowd the pan. Each fritter lowers the oil temp, and it's much easier to manage five or six than 10. e) Don't add sugar to the batter, otherwise they'll brown faster. I also used tongs to flip and remove them from the pan before sprinkling with powdered sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Great recipe. Just follow it, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States