Banana Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
My kids LOVED these! I added one more banana and some maple syrup, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. Great quick after school snack for the boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ageless diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These were so quick and easy to make, and sooo good. I came across recipe because I was looking for a way to use up my very ripe bananas (other than banana bread). Now I will make a point to make these in the future because they are simply delicious and full of banana flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These were absolutely delicious. I surprised my boyfriend by making them because he hasnt had them in years. He wanted to eat them all in one sitting. Tip: Watch them when u put them in the pan they fry in seconds after they inflate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Great pancake batter! I followed the recipe word for word, minus the sugar for dusting, and instead of deep frying the batter, I made delicious banana pancakes! I also left tiny little chunks of banana in the batter. It made 12 pancakes, cooking 4 at a time on a flat skillet. They are so flavorful, I just ate them plain with my hands while standing up and cooking/cleaning up. They would be a good food to easily pack up for kids or adults to eat on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Really good! I used overripe bananas and half and half cream instead of milk (only because I didn't have milk on hand). A little greasy, but that is to be expected. A great (occasional) treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Thanks for this recipe! I have since substituted the banana's with all different things from blueberry pie filling to pumpkin pie filling, pineapple and coconut etcetc and they are all awesome! I will be selling these at my shop this summer with homemade ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelbug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sohol
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
It was pretty good....I added alittle more cinn and sugar...I used a 1 oz ice cream or meatball scooper..I used whipping cream, in place of milk...didnt have milk on hand....I fried 2 mins on ea side....one thing make sure you have anuff oil in the pan,so they can float.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I increased the recipe to 1-1/2 x original. I substituted Splenda blend (1/2 cup in recipe and used 1/2 cup original Splenda with 1 tbsp corn starch to dust after frying) and it worked marvelously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Howard Cloud

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made these a couple days ago. They were great. I ate 6!! Greedy i know. I cooked them in a deep fryer at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
It was fine and the texture was just right, but I used nowhere near 1 quart of oil and the banana flavor was barely detectable as Chevonne said. Based on that and other people's comments of blandness, I upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and added an extra banana. Wonderful. Beyond that, just some tips: a) A piping bag isn't really necessary. The trick is to drop the right amount of batter in the oil all at once, otherwise you get these strings and odd shapes. I used on overfilled gravy ladle and let a dollop drop in. b) Eggs and milk should be room temp or you risk having a browned outside but uncooked middle. c) Use a lower temp. All stoves are different, so do a test batch at 325 first, then adjust. I ended up using 275 to avoid browning too fast and cooking everything in the middle. d) Don't overcrowd the pan. Each fritter lowers the oil temp, and it's much easier to manage five or six than 10. e) Don't add sugar to the batter, otherwise they'll brown faster. I also used tongs to flip and remove them from the pan before sprinkling with powdered sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States