Banana Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made these a couple days ago. They were great. I ate 6!! Greedy i know. I cooked them in a deep fryer at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
It was fine and the texture was just right, but I used nowhere near 1 quart of oil and the banana flavor was barely detectable as Chevonne said. Based on that and other people's comments of blandness, I upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and added an extra banana. Wonderful. Beyond that, just some tips: a) A piping bag isn't really necessary. The trick is to drop the right amount of batter in the oil all at once, otherwise you get these strings and odd shapes. I used on overfilled gravy ladle and let a dollop drop in. b) Eggs and milk should be room temp or you risk having a browned outside but uncooked middle. c) Use a lower temp. All stoves are different, so do a test batch at 325 first, then adjust. I ended up using 275 to avoid browning too fast and cooking everything in the middle. d) Don't overcrowd the pan. Each fritter lowers the oil temp, and it's much easier to manage five or six than 10. e) Don't add sugar to the batter, otherwise they'll brown faster. I also used tongs to flip and remove them from the pan before sprinkling with powdered sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These fritters are very moist and tasty. I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract for extra flavour. They seem to cook too fast at 375 F, so I set my oil at 350 and cooked them approx. 6 mins. Also took icing sugar and milk, mixed to a thick drizzle consistency and drizzle over the fritters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
this was very good. it did take a little long to cook because i didn't want to burn them but it was well worth the wait. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
My kids loved this. I don't have a deep fryer so I borrowed one it was easy and my kids were able to help. They ate them as fast as I could fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspaisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Thanks for the recipe. I tried these in a chinese restaurant the other day and got it into my head I wanted to make them. I made them for the first time tonight and they were delicious and fun to cook. My wife loved them too. But. But. But. You have to try them with syrup. Put some syrup in a bowl and place the fritters on top, or just drizzle the syrup over the top of the fritters. The choice is yours, but add the syrup to taste. It can be quite sweet. Vanilla icecream and syrup with the fritters is good also. The kids love em like that. Very sweet options I know but hey. It is nice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Fantastic! followed recipe exactly! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Well, I never thought I'd say it but these were better than my grandmothers. They were fluffy and tender on the inside and crispy on the outside. Not too sweet. Perfect! UPDATE: For the leftovers, instead of dusting them with powdered sugar, I shook them in a little cinnamon and sugar mixture and this was wonderful! I think next time I will do this from the start and skip the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Surprisingly easy mess free recipe. I added 5 tablespoons of sugar instead of the 3, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 1/4, 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg instead of a pinch, half a banana more and they turned out great! My brother had them with ice cream and said they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States