Banana Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I think they were just sweet enough, not too overpowering with banana flavor. The only changes I made to the recipe is that I used half whole wheat flour and olive oil rather than margarine. Very light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I made them using a fry pan with about 1/2 inch of oil to shallow fry. My husband loved these, but he drizzled chocolate syrup and maple syrup on them to add flavor. I think next time (yes, there will be a next time because we always have bananas), I will try some of the suggestions to add brown sugar or more cinnamon as I feel they need a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I had some overripe bananas and about an hour before heading off to a friends with the kids. This recipe fit the bill. After the first batch (too doughy for me and desired more flavor) these are all the adjustments to the recipe. 3 very ripe bananas, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, an additional 3 TBL brown sugar, lowered the oil temp to 330 degrees, used a 1 1/2 Tbl ice cream scoop filled only 3/4 of the way (the small amount cooked through), shallow fried in 3/4" oil, turning after fritters were bubbly on top and brown on bottom, immediately sprinkled with sugar cinnamon mixture (for flavor) and after they cooled a bit to eating temp sprinkled powdered sugar on top (for appearance). They were very good. My friend thought they were delicious and I left there empty-handed. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I just made this for a potluck food sale, and i have to say it is SO GOOD i think i gained 10 pounds while i cooked them because ach one tha didn't look perfect i said "ooh, better eat that one!!" its kinda hard to get the oil the exact right temp for them to fry, they burn so fat if you dont watch it. for those of you who dont like gooey insides, it might not be for you. myself i think the gooey is the best part, after all it IS made with mashed bananas, you cant expect it to be like a cake donut that is dense. After mine were slightly cooled i sprinkled a mix of granulated sugar and cinnamon. I also added more cinnamon and sugar than the batter called for and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These were quite delicious and were gone before I knew it. I used 3 bananas and was glad I did - I really enjoyed the flavor. I added extra sugar as other reviewers suggested. I ate them hot as soon as they were done but my boyfriend thought they were a little mushy. He preferred them after they had cooled and dried a bit. Overall great recipe and easily tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I made this recipe but omitted the eggs. It was incredible! This is a very delicious dessert. My husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made a batch of these and ended up with too many so gave the rest to my next door neighbours who loved them! Great recipe although next time I would add a little sugar to the batter mix to make the fritters sweeter. A simple, quick and easy sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is a really good fritter recipe. You really only need about a 1/2 inch of oil in a pan for these. 2 Quarts is overkill. The key to keeping these from cooking too long is to use a small amount and spread it out. The do puff up quite a bit. I ommitted the eggs (my Jamaican friend never uses eggs) and they came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Yummy!! Add more bananas and sugar and cinnamon than called for, for more flavor. Also, good to add raisins if you are a raisin lover. I did 1 1/2 recipe and used four bananas. It was about right, I think. They grow twice the size as they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Tried this, adding an addt'l banana, 2 more Tbsp of sugar, and piped it into the vs. dropping with a spoon. They turned out okay, had to cook in oil little longer than I'd have expected thus making them a bit greasy. Still, it's a good basic recipe when you're in the mood for something like this, it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States