Banana Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Heliftsmeup
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I didn't have a nine inch non-stick pan so I used the one I do have which might be about 6 inches. In that case, I made a few small frittatas this way. I also mashed the bananas before adding them to the mixture. I tried the recipe with banana slices too and I think either way is fine, it is a little more challenging to flip with the slices, but not impossible, maybe that is because mine were generally smaller frittatas than the recipe calls for. The flavor was good, it was kind of like a big pancake. For my picture I used a pizza cutter and made a square and a "checkerboard" design with Hershey's syrup, some mixed frozen fruit, and whipped cream. Overall, it was pretty good, would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heliftsmeup

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I really like this recipe for my over-ripe bananas. I generally substitute whole wheat flour, and sometimes egg beaters for the eggs. I agree it is best to mash the bananas first. And I add 1/2 t vanilla and 1/4 t cinnamon. I don't use the recommended amount of oil butter - I just use enough butter or cooking spray to coat my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Yum! I did however make a few minor adjustments . First, instead of sliced bananas I put the bananas in a food chopper. As for the rest of the batter I added a bit of cinnamon, vanilla extract, used half brown sugar/half white sugar and soymilk. Also, I just used enough butter to coat my pan once and I had no problems at all flipping any of the frittatas. This was a simple, easy recipe and the frittatas came out moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was delicious, but rolling in butter! perhaps less butter is necessary?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
These were so easy and had lots of flavor. I didn't use any of the butter or oil, and instead spooned them on to an electric skillet and made mini pancakes. Served with a dusting of powdered sugar and a zig-zag of chocolate sauce on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I did add an extra banana, vanilla, cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg. I also mashed the banana's. I made silver dollar size pancakes and had no problems with mushiness. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I've made savory frittatas before but after reading the recipe and the reviews was somewhat confused. I didn't know whether the 3 serving size was 3 paper-thin crepe like frittatas or 1 frittata cut into 3 wedges! This is what I did....I only made 1 frittata, MASHED the banana and added to batter and poured all the batter into pan and cooked on medium heat for about 4 minutes. The middle was not firm so I put under broiler (on Lo) for about 2 minutes. I then slid out the frittata onto plate. I turned pan over the frittata and plate and flipped over. This was just to make sure the middle was done (only about 30 seconds). I flipped back over, let cool and sprinkled with powdered sugar. I sliced into 2" wedges. My family gobbled it down!! I barely got one piece and my husband was asking if there was anymore. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This one was hard to rate. I'd say 4 stars if the texture wasn't so odd... the bananas and egg combination was a little offputting. The flavor was fairly decent, though. However, I wouldn't make it again just because it wasn't that great. When it came time to flip, I realized that the frittata was going to fall apart because of the heaviness of the bananas pulling at the batter from different angles. I loosened it from the skillet with a spatula and slid it onto a dinner plate. Then, holding the plate directly over the skillet, I flipped the plate over, dropping the frittata back into the skillet to allow it to brown on the other side. Stayed together just perfectly. I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the batter and cut the oil in half (could stand to be cut a little more). I also used margarine instead of butter. Served with sliced bananas and powdered sugar on top. Thanks, I had fun making this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Very tasty! This was my first Banana fritter/frittata recipe and it turned out great. I will definitely add this to our breakfast rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I made this using whole wheat flour and Splenda and it turned out great. The flavor was nice and it was very simple to make. My only complaint is that it is very greasy, so if I make it again, I'll cut mthe amount of oil in half and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States