Banana Flips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Very good - a hit with the kids and all at the potluck and quick to make. If you use powdered sugar as the other reviews mention, the substitution ratio given on this site is 1 3/4 c. pwdr sugar = 1 c. granulated sugar. I used granulated and had no problems, but you have to beat & beat & beat the sugar/butter/shortening for a VERY long time until the sugar dissolves, or you will have gritty filling. Maybe not the job for a hand held mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I loved how easy these were to make! I add a little more banana then what the recipe calls for..it brings out more of the banana goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessieLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Easy to make. Co-workers loved it! Smelled and tasted like the "real thing." Thanks! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lonnie Francis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceface
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Great cake! I do agree with the other reviews though. Powered sugar should be used instead of granulated in the filling for a smoother texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
OMG, this tastes exactly like the banana flips you buy in the store. I didn't have a yellow cake mix so used a banana cake mix & a little extra banana extract. The banana cake mix really brings out the banana flavor. And even better the next day. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kammy W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Alix, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
How to review this masterpiece? Hmmmm....Well FIRST it's a 10 star recipe! I have made this twice now WITH the advice of using powdered sugar instead of granular. AND....I had an old banana and added that to the cake for kicks & giggles (will ALWAYS do that!). Now for the "filling"...I could NOT find any banana extract on the day I was to make this SO I purchased some Loran's Banana Cream Oil...yes the kind used for candy making...BUT you CAN add it to other things as well. I put in a DROP at a time just until I got a very "light" banana flavor and was I glad I did...it balanced out the MEGA MOIST banana cake with the not so "sweet" filling. Am I gushing? :-) It's a GREAT recipe and something different to do with an old banana or two! THANKS FOR POSTING THIS...really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I just made this and it is great. I added a banana to the cake mix and used 2 sticks of real butter and 1 stick of parkay for the filling. what the recipe doesn't tell you is that you have to beat the filling for a good 10 minutes until the sugar is no longer granually. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This turned out awesome. It tasted just like the banana flips you could buy years ago....I used granulated sugar in the filling, next time I will beat longer or use powdered sugar as suggested. I might also try to add a banana to the cake batter, but it tasted great without needing to make any changes. My picky young eaters LOVED it !! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this for Easter dessert and my family loved it. I personally thought it was a little too dry, but everyone else thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very good and almost does taste like the banana flips we bought as kids. I did use the powdered sugar as suggested. I would like to see a little more air in the filling but other than that it is easy and I am sure I will have to make again, Thanks for sharing,,:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States