Banana Flips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Very good - a hit with the kids and all at the potluck and quick to make. If you use powdered sugar as the other reviews mention, the substitution ratio given on this site is 1 3/4 c. pwdr sugar = 1 c. granulated sugar. I used granulated and had no problems, but you have to beat & beat & beat the sugar/butter/shortening for a VERY long time until the sugar dissolves, or you will have gritty filling. Maybe not the job for a hand held mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
OMG, this tastes exactly like the banana flips you buy in the store. I didn't have a yellow cake mix so used a banana cake mix & a little extra banana extract. The banana cake mix really brings out the banana flavor. And even better the next day. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kammy W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Alix, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
The filling is a good base recipe, but it's better with confectioner's sugar (in equal amt) instead of granulated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
The cake was great. However, using the granulated sugar in the frosting was not as great. I recommend using powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceface
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Great cake! I do agree with the other reviews though. Powered sugar should be used instead of granulated in the filling for a smoother texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
How to review this masterpiece? Hmmmm....Well FIRST it's a 10 star recipe! I have made this twice now WITH the advice of using powdered sugar instead of granular. AND....I had an old banana and added that to the cake for kicks & giggles (will ALWAYS do that!). Now for the "filling"...I could NOT find any banana extract on the day I was to make this SO I purchased some Loran's Banana Cream Oil...yes the kind used for candy making...BUT you CAN add it to other things as well. I put in a DROP at a time just until I got a very "light" banana flavor and was I glad I did...it balanced out the MEGA MOIST banana cake with the not so "sweet" filling. Am I gushing? :-) It's a GREAT recipe and something different to do with an old banana or two! THANKS FOR POSTING THIS...really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This turned out awesome. It tasted just like the banana flips you could buy years ago....I used granulated sugar in the filling, next time I will beat longer or use powdered sugar as suggested. I might also try to add a banana to the cake batter, but it tasted great without needing to make any changes. My picky young eaters LOVED it !! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I just made this and it is great. I added a banana to the cake mix and used 2 sticks of real butter and 1 stick of parkay for the filling. what the recipe doesn't tell you is that you have to beat the filling for a good 10 minutes until the sugar is no longer granually. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
after 17 minutes in the oven, the cakes were still very battery. i had to go to the store so i told my husband to check it in 15 minutes. it was a little over baked but it gave a nice crisp on the sides. i was a little hesitant to make the filling... especially because it called for flour and there's no cooking it, but it turned out really great. i didn't add all the milk, i just kinda stopped on the consistency i preferred. it was really thick and separated the layers of the cake nicely. for something optional, i heated chocolate fudge and caramel as drizzles for my guests. they enjoyed it... even the ones that were very conscious about their weight and sugar intake. they all had a second serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
AMAZING!!! I made my own cake mix and added the pudding mix to it. I didn't have banana extract so I used vanilla butter nut that I usually only use at Christmas time. I am not sure why my sugar mixture didn't come out smooth since I used tub butter that was already softened. Maybe my shortening wasn't soft enough. Anyways, even though the filling was somewhat gritty (baker error I'm assuming) this was unbelievably good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States