Banana Flips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
The filling is a good base recipe, but it's better with confectioner's sugar (in equal amt) instead of granulated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
The cake was great. However, using the granulated sugar in the frosting was not as great. I recommend using powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Very good - a hit with the kids and all at the potluck and quick to make. If you use powdered sugar as the other reviews mention, the substitution ratio given on this site is 1 3/4 c. pwdr sugar = 1 c. granulated sugar. I used granulated and had no problems, but you have to beat & beat & beat the sugar/butter/shortening for a VERY long time until the sugar dissolves, or you will have gritty filling. Maybe not the job for a hand held mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceface
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Great cake! I do agree with the other reviews though. Powered sugar should be used instead of granulated in the filling for a smoother texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I loved how easy these were to make! I add a little more banana then what the recipe calls for..it brings out more of the banana goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessieLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
OMG, this tastes exactly like the banana flips you buy in the store. I didn't have a yellow cake mix so used a banana cake mix & a little extra banana extract. The banana cake mix really brings out the banana flavor. And even better the next day. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kammy W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Alix, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
after 17 minutes in the oven, the cakes were still very battery. i had to go to the store so i told my husband to check it in 15 minutes. it was a little over baked but it gave a nice crisp on the sides. i was a little hesitant to make the filling... especially because it called for flour and there's no cooking it, but it turned out really great. i didn't add all the milk, i just kinda stopped on the consistency i preferred. it was really thick and separated the layers of the cake nicely. for something optional, i heated chocolate fudge and caramel as drizzles for my guests. they enjoyed it... even the ones that were very conscious about their weight and sugar intake. they all had a second serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
How to review this masterpiece? Hmmmm....Well FIRST it's a 10 star recipe! I have made this twice now WITH the advice of using powdered sugar instead of granular. AND....I had an old banana and added that to the cake for kicks & giggles (will ALWAYS do that!). Now for the "filling"...I could NOT find any banana extract on the day I was to make this SO I purchased some Loran's Banana Cream Oil...yes the kind used for candy making...BUT you CAN add it to other things as well. I put in a DROP at a time just until I got a very "light" banana flavor and was I glad I did...it balanced out the MEGA MOIST banana cake with the not so "sweet" filling. Am I gushing? :-) It's a GREAT recipe and something different to do with an old banana or two! THANKS FOR POSTING THIS...really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this for Easter dessert and my family loved it. I personally thought it was a little too dry, but everyone else thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I was so hopeful that this was going to be good. I added two bananas to the cake batter, which was pretty good. It wasn't dry at all. I used powder sugar instead of regular - that totally made sense. I just think the filling was greasy, but not so bad if it was really cold. I would probably make it without the shortening - use butter maybe - if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States