Banana Flavored Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
i wasn't a big fan, however, it was a hit with those who received this jam as Christmas gifts. For that reason I will keep this in my arsenal of homemade gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Yay! I looked all over the internets for a recipe like this! I wanted to find a yummy banana spread (for toast) that didn't involve another fruit - just bananas. I just wasn't sure what all could go into it (I lack creative juice when it comes to food) until I found this recipe. Now, I didn't follow it *exactly* because I just guestimated the amounts of each ingredient as I wanted to make this with just one banana. If you do all this *to taste* you can get a wonderfully banana-y flavor with a a kick of nutmeg (and cinnamon - I took that advice). I also took the advice to use a very ripe banana. They're half way to mush anyways, and much sweeter. ALSO, what added to the deliciousness was texture: don't blend this up! Hand-mush that fruit and you will get some lovely lumps of banana-y goodness. ALSO, I didn't cook this. Don't know how long it will keep, but I jarred the little extra that I had and stuck it in the fridge... we'll see! Maybe I'll try cooking it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darayman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
We didn't care for this. it also looks kind of brown, very unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
tasted like baby food to me...I guess just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpbev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
it goes good with peanut butter but by itself at least for me it reminded me of banana baby food sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Mancini
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a great recipe. Was very easy. I made it in the bread maker on the jam setting came out thick like a banana butter. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mancini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
The result of this recipe was definitely edible, but I feel like it could have been so much better. Even when using a measuring cup to add all the ingredients, I found the lemon taste to be too strong. I will probably halve the amount next time. Adding a touch of cinnamon (as suggested by other reviewers) was definitely a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherny2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This turned out perfect! I followed this recipe to a "t", only adding a touch of nutmeg AND cinnamon. Great, great, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This came out very tasty, though I only tasted it by itself, not ON anything. I quartered the recipe because I only had 3 bananas, which was a little over 1 cup mashed. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and a few drops of vanilla extract. Thanks for this recipe, I'm sure I'll make it again someday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States