Banana Flavored Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Yay! I looked all over the internets for a recipe like this! I wanted to find a yummy banana spread (for toast) that didn't involve another fruit - just bananas. I just wasn't sure what all could go into it (I lack creative juice when it comes to food) until I found this recipe. Now, I didn't follow it *exactly* because I just guestimated the amounts of each ingredient as I wanted to make this with just one banana. If you do all this *to taste* you can get a wonderfully banana-y flavor with a a kick of nutmeg (and cinnamon - I took that advice). I also took the advice to use a very ripe banana. They're half way to mush anyways, and much sweeter. ALSO, what added to the deliciousness was texture: don't blend this up! Hand-mush that fruit and you will get some lovely lumps of banana-y goodness. ALSO, I didn't cook this. Don't know how long it will keep, but I jarred the little extra that I had and stuck it in the fridge... we'll see! Maybe I'll try cooking it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darayman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This turned out perfect! I followed this recipe to a "t", only adding a touch of nutmeg AND cinnamon. Great, great, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This banana-ry treat was marvelous on toast! And to think that I thought Avocado Jam was devine...ME! PROFESSOR RESPEUTEON! For an extra treat, scoop it onto your porridge! That's what I call BANANALICOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
My kids loved the great taste!!! A yummy topping on toast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Excellent! My kids love jam sandwiches and I made this, as we had run out of store bought jam. I think we will keep doing this instead - they love it and its affordable! Only thing is I wasn't sure how long to leave it on the stove top and don't think I left it on long enough, and I also burnt it a bit initially because I had the stove top too hot. Very yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Big Mess
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was very easy to make, though it did take quite a few ripe bananas to get up to 4 cups. It was very delicious and seemed to taste the best on pancakes. I tried putting it on scrambled eggs and that tasted good too. *Yes, I do have odd tastes* My entire family loved it, and it is much healtheir then the usual syrup we use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mess

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe is an excellent alternative to making banana bread for using up over-ripe bananas! We have definitely enjoyed this both times I have made it, although I can't imagine having enough old bananas in order to be able to have 4 cups worth once mashed: so the recipe was quartered the first time, and halved the second, and both were still very yummy warm on French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nantes, Pays De La Loire, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This came out very tasty, though I only tasted it by itself, not ON anything. I quartered the recipe because I only had 3 bananas, which was a little over 1 cup mashed. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and a few drops of vanilla extract. Thanks for this recipe, I'm sure I'll make it again someday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Mancini
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a great recipe. Was very easy. I made it in the bread maker on the jam setting came out thick like a banana butter. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mancini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States