Banana Flavored Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
i wasn't a big fan, however, it was a hit with those who received this jam as Christmas gifts. For that reason I will keep this in my arsenal of homemade gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Yay! I looked all over the internets for a recipe like this! I wanted to find a yummy banana spread (for toast) that didn't involve another fruit - just bananas. I just wasn't sure what all could go into it (I lack creative juice when it comes to food) until I found this recipe. Now, I didn't follow it *exactly* because I just guestimated the amounts of each ingredient as I wanted to make this with just one banana. If you do all this *to taste* you can get a wonderfully banana-y flavor with a a kick of nutmeg (and cinnamon - I took that advice). I also took the advice to use a very ripe banana. They're half way to mush anyways, and much sweeter. ALSO, what added to the deliciousness was texture: don't blend this up! Hand-mush that fruit and you will get some lovely lumps of banana-y goodness. ALSO, I didn't cook this. Don't know how long it will keep, but I jarred the little extra that I had and stuck it in the fridge... we'll see! Maybe I'll try cooking it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darayman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
We didn't care for this. it also looks kind of brown, very unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
tasted like baby food to me...I guess just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
it goes good with peanut butter but by itself at least for me it reminded me of banana baby food sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Mancini
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a great recipe. Was very easy. I made it in the bread maker on the jam setting came out thick like a banana butter. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mancini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
The result of this recipe was definitely edible, but I feel like it could have been so much better. Even when using a measuring cup to add all the ingredients, I found the lemon taste to be too strong. I will probably halve the amount next time. Adding a touch of cinnamon (as suggested by other reviewers) was definitely a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherny2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This turned out perfect! I followed this recipe to a "t", only adding a touch of nutmeg AND cinnamon. Great, great, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This came out very tasty, though I only tasted it by itself, not ON anything. I quartered the recipe because I only had 3 bananas, which was a little over 1 cup mashed. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and a few drops of vanilla extract. Thanks for this recipe, I'm sure I'll make it again someday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States