Banana-Dulce de Leche Pie (Banana-Caramel Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Such an awesome delectable pie! You can substitute bananas withe cherry pie filling then garnish the firm peaks of whipping cream (placing it in over long enough to lightly brown the peaks) with marachino cherries. What a Delightful twist to cherry pie!! I spice up my cherry filling with 2 tbls brown sugar, 1/tsp allspice, 1 tsp cinnamon & 1 capful of vanilla flavoring. Great Banana cream Dulce de leche pie recipe! Should try the cherry dulche de leche pie too. P.s., you should of totally submerged the can & turn it end over end every 1 hr then roll it side to other side every 1/2 an hr. Then it all gets cooked to caramelization, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Rather than cooking the Dulce in the can (which can leach chemicals from the can into your product), pour a 14 oz can into a pint canning jar. Place the lid on the canning jar and then follow the recipe. An added benefit is that you can see how dark the Dulce is becoming through the jar, which you can't through a can. I also make it in my crockpot, cooking on high for 5-6 hours. Just make sure the water is to the level of the condensed milk. This pie is delicious but very calorie intense. I make it in half pint wide mouth canning jars and put the whipped cream on at the last minute. It makes for a cute serving container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
i made this recipe today and my husband and both my boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is an excellent pie although I cheated - just buy a graham cracker crust. Also, in the mexican food section in the store you can get a can of the carmel. I sat the can into hot water for awhile just to soften abit before pouring over the bananas. Put in refrigerator for at least an hour. Added the Cool whip before serving and what a treat this is. Everyone loved it. So simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativemonkey3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Tried this for the first time, belatedly read about putting can on side so for the last 15minutes I turned it to the side and rotated a couple of times. Worked wonderful! Was careful opening can (a no brainer!) then before it cooled I mixed the ingredients from the bottom, just held can with potholder and stirred it up good. Made for lady's at Bunko, celebrating Cinco De Mayo, never had pie before and it was enjoyed by all! Great and easy recipe just got to use the brain a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very rich. Love that. Used a 9"pan. Trying an 8" or smaller next time. Caramel filling (bought the premade can) very shallow. Used one large banana. Maybe part of the reason so low (yeah, it is). I don't think it needs more caramel. Wondering if I could "toss" two large or three smaller ones in the caramel, then spread. Couldn't easily spread on bananas, which I sliced & quartered. Seemed like too much whipped cream. Tried that two ways: 3/4c w/ 1T confec & 1/2t vanilla. Good, but too sweet for the caramel base. Second: 3/4c w/ 1/4t instant coffee & 1/2t confec sugar. By itself, needs more sugar - at least a little. On the pie, perfect. I also melted two bittersweet chocolate squares & spread that on the crust before filling. My recipe: 1 1/4c crumbs, 1/3c margarine, 2T sugar. Use margarine if chilling, not baking. Butter sticks to the pan. Either is fine if you bake it first. Mmmm. 'Thinking I may make the graham crust, sprinkle w/ mini choc chips; then bake it; then spread the chips that will be softened. The square wasn't a problem, just thinking chips may be easier to have it be more even. Oh, I chilled the bananas before slicing & again after filling the pie - before the whipped cream. Top w/ dark chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I was short on time so I took a short cut and bought the dulce de leche in a jar instead of making it myself with the milk. I found the pie to be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Awesome! Added cinnamon, allspice and clove to the premade dulce de leche and it came out perfect for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleLibra89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was very good . Made it for a crowd of 90.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Frozen Margarita Pie

A refreshing dessert catered to adults taste buds.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States