Banana-Dulce de Leche Pie (Banana-Caramel Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
After reading another review, I flipped my can over every time I added more water to my pot. Very good and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
OMG THIS WAS THE BOMB! I read the reviews from others and laid the can on its side for the whole 3hrs and it came out perfect!I only was able to put 3 banana's in teh pie but it was still GREAT. I will try this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qteepieinvegas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
A similar recipe is known as Banoffi (or Banoffee) pie in the UK and was reputedly created at the Hungry Monk restaurant in Jevington, East Sussex in 1971. Their recipe requires the condensed milk to be boiled fully submerged for 5 hours. Originally it was served on a pastry crust. However I use digestive biscuits crushed and mixed with butter for the base, which I assume is similar to the graham base in US, but I don't cook this - simply cool in fridge before topping with the dulce and bananas. 3/4 pint cream is whipped with 1tsp sugar and 1/2tsp instant coffee. p.s. in UK pre-made dulce de leche is now available by the maker of a popular brand of condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abbey
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love this Pie. I used this pie as a refrence since i had most of it down by heart. I do use a regular pie crust instesd of the grahm cracker. But over all a wonderful tasty pie. I recomend. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for my husband’s birthday pie he loved it so much, and so did all the guests. It was well worth the 3hrs to make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDishner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a great easy recipe, lay the unopened can on its side and boil for 3 hours, turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Absolutely divine! I used a ready made pie crust and boiled the milk for 2 and 1/2 hours on its side. My family couldn't wait to dig into it, so it sat in the fridge for only about 20 minutes. I would def. serve this to any company! Thanx for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I can't believe how easy it is to make caramel! Nexy time, I would make two cans, instead of one because it really is the best part. I boiled the can on its side on the low setting of an electric hot pot and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Fantastic recipe, and so easy to make. Admittedly it does take a little while to cook the caramel, but it is so worth it. As other reviewers have suggested, using ready made caramel makes cooking this pie a breeze. The only thing I have altered is the crust, I don't like biscuit crusts so I cut up a sponge cake and lined a pie dish with it. Works a treat! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States