Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I changed up the recipe a bit. I used 1 stick butter, I know some people resist butter but I use it in my baked goods on occasion. I used 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar instead of white sugar. I used Hodgson Mill white flour and instead of 1 1/2 cups I used 2 cups. I also used 1 teaspoon each of baking powder, baking soda and salt. I used 3/4 cup chopped dates and mixed them in with the banana , sugar mixture. I added 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla. This made 4 mini loaves. And oh yeah I put two tablespoons Trader joes pecan praline granola on each loaf before baking! And thanks to some other recommendations I used flax meal and increased it to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Excellent and flexible! I only add ground flax and no dates cuz that's what I have on hand. I also throw in walnuts, cranberries and a bit of kefir. I smear pb on top too. Good recipe as is or if you want to get creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJoslin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good - made as described (did use ground flax seed meal as recommended) and just ate a slice while still warm. Yummy. It is a bit sweet but that is OK. Dates are a nice change but maybe the tartness of raisins would be good. It will be hard not to have another slice right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahgeary
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I've made this recipe at least a dozen times as is, and it's great as it is. In the past i've subbed raisins for dates, since dates are the one ingredient i don't normally have on hand. Today i adjusted the recipe quite a bit and it's so yummy i wanted to share: Instead of 100% AP, used 1 C AP Flour, 1/4 c whole wheat, & 1/4 c wheat germ. Added a heaping tablespoon of ground espresso, ~1/4 c chopped pistachio, 1/2 t of cinnamon. Omitted the whole flax seeds (kept the ground flax). My adjustments were deliciously inspired by the muffin i had this weekend at True Food Kitchen in Santa Monica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Great simple recipe as written. I like including the little bit of whole flax for the texture but i can see why others don't. Made into muffins as well for the kid's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I have used this recipe often. My family and friends love it and so do I. I slowly changed from all white flour to 2/3 whole wheat and 1/3 white. It works well and feels more healthy. I have also substituted walnuts for dates for one of my friends but personally prefer dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I have made this a few times it always turns out great! I like to use apple sauce instead of oil and add a teaspoon of cinnamon. I also like to double the recipe and make 2 because 1 disappears too fast. This is also a great recipe for kids ... one does the dry ingredients and the other does the wet... we LOVE this recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepsigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Loved it! Cut recipe in half and made 1 tiny loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated, except that I used all ground flaxseed. It honestly came out a little dry - I'd recommend using either another banana or a little more oil. It also came out kind of bland, so again I'd recommend another banana or increasing the sugar just by 1/4 cup. The dates didn't do much. I'd add walnuts instead next time. But overall a good recipe. I'd make it again only with the above modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I gave this 4 stars perhaps unfairly since I tweaked the recipe on my first attempt - these are my changes: full cup of ground flax, agave for the sugar, olive oil instead of veg oil, and flaked coconut/some ground almonds (no dates), homemade vanilla extract. Let me tell you - it's great. Incredibly moist, lots of flavor - a perfect healthy snack./breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States