Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I sort of made this recipe- I used a couple substitutions. I used half and half whole wheat and white flour; applesauce instead of oil; egg replacer instead of eggs; I ground all the flaxseed; used 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup white; and added more dates. I made a batch of 10 big muffins and they turned out great. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Healthy banana bread recipe that doesn't taste "healthy". I wanted to add more flax to our diet and found the perfect recipe. I made muffins instead of a loaf by baking for 30 mins. The flaxseeds give it a nutty flavor and texture. The kids love the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Excellent Recipe: My modifications: 1) used raisins, instead of dates 2) used all ground flaxseeds, no whole. I had heard that whole flaxseeds should never be used for ingesting or cooking, only ground. So I grounded the whole amount and put it all in there. The result is a nutrient-densed and delicous bread. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I just made this & had a slice not ten minutes ago. It is yummy beyond words! And even better b/c it's so healthy. A note to readers, however - flaxseed must be ground before consumption to obtain any health benefits. I replaced the white flour with whole wheat, used four bananas, and sub'd applesauce for oil. I also halved the sugar, but it was still too sweet. The dates & bananas give it ample sweetness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
After taking advice from some reviewers and decreasing the sugar to almost half, this bread came out very dry and lacked taste. I doubled the recipe (except for the sugar), so maybe that made a difference. After reading the reviews, I was expecting it to be better, but I was disappointed. I wish I didn't make two loaves. I had to put some leftover cake icing on it to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Grind all the flax seed or just buy it pre-milled. You get no nutritional benefit from whole seeds, they just pass through you. I also used walnuts instead of dates, and used whole wheat flour instead of white. Also added 1/2 tsp vanilla for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Love this recipe!! I make it about twice a week. My kids and husband love it and I like the healthy ingredients. I use 3/4 cup milled flax seed. I also use 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of a 1/2 cup of white sugar & instead of a cup and half of white flour, I use 3/4 whole wheat and 3/4 white. I use raisens instead of dates and have also added chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I really enjoyed the bread. I used the blender to ground the flax seed, substituted 1 TBSP Stevia for the sugar, unsweetened applesauce for the oil & raisins instead of dates. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 stars only because I wasn't as fond of the whole flax seed texture(will probably ground all the flax seed next time). It is a great way to have a sweet treat that is so much better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This came out slightly dry for me, so I added big banana chunks into the mix and it baked out so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheOtherHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I did not have any dates, so I made it without them, still a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States