Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was delicious. The flax adds so much fiber to stay that "regular" course! I changed the dates to chopped up prunes, which I had on hand, and found they were very sweet and moist. A nice break from regular banana bread. Also, I left out the whole flax because in their whole state, the seeds are not broken down as easily or assimilated as much. I also cut the sugar down 30%. This bread is TO DIE FOR and has become one of my favorite breakfast options. thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Grind all the flax seed or just buy it pre-milled. You get no nutritional benefit from whole seeds, they just pass through you. I also used walnuts instead of dates, and used whole wheat flour instead of white. Also added 1/2 tsp vanilla for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I wouldn't make it again - the flaxseed flavor was too much and husb likes chocolate chips better than dates. I'll stick with traditional banana bran bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
After taking advice from some reviewers and decreasing the sugar to almost half, this bread came out very dry and lacked taste. I doubled the recipe (except for the sugar), so maybe that made a difference. After reading the reviews, I was expecting it to be better, but I was disappointed. I wish I didn't make two loaves. I had to put some leftover cake icing on it to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Love this recipe!! I make it about twice a week. My kids and husband love it and I like the healthy ingredients. I use 3/4 cup milled flax seed. I also use 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of a 1/2 cup of white sugar & instead of a cup and half of white flour, I use 3/4 whole wheat and 3/4 white. I use raisens instead of dates and have also added chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
My husband and youngest son really enjoyed. I read reviews and also did some changes. Used all natural apple sauce, splenda instead of sugar, ground all my flax seed, and used 3/4 cup all purpose flour & 3/4 cup whole wheat flour. Very moist and full of flavor. Thanks for a healthy recipe that actually taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Made this this morning. I used an egg replacer for the eggs and only used ground flax. Very good! Thanks to the reviewers for persuading me to make this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I used 3/4 all-purpose flour and 3/4 whole wheat; applesauce instead of oil; 3/4 ground flaxseed; added walnuts and pecans; and added ground cinnamon, nutmeg and clove (1/2 tsp each). It turned out very good. If you like spicy bread, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I couldn't get the whole flaxseed ground in my food processor so I used 1/2 c. bran flour in its place. Served at an office breakfast to rave reviews, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
FABULOUS!!!!!!! Made muffins...took 23 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States