Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Exceptional Bread. My family loves it. Plus it is high in fiber and is very healthy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
At 55 minutes mine was overcooked. Next time I will check it sooner. It's still good but a little on the dry side. I used cranberries & chopped walnuts instead of dates. Added a little oat bran in place of the whole flax seed. Added homemade apple pie spice. Thanks, I love to find healthy things to eat in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very tasty muffins! I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and made 12 big muffins. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I've made this recipe a couple of times now. The first time I followed it exactly and my husband loved it! I tried it again and added 2 cups of fresh cranberries instead of the dates and a tsp of vanilla. It turned out much better than I expected. I also made muffins instead of a loaf (350 degrees for 22-25 minutes). The muffins are not too sweet and the cranberries give a nice tartness which adds contrast. I'll continue to use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
So I replaced the sugar cup for cup with honey, replaced the veggie oil with olive oil, and used wheat flour+gluten instead of all-purpose. I added 2TBSP of molases because I like my wheat bread to LOOK like wheat bread and the molasses gives it a darker color. Instead of dates I used craisins, dried blueberries, and golden raisens and added about double what the recipe did. Also, my bananas were not completely smooth, but a little chunky, which made the bread look and taste good too. It came out great! I passed it around to teachers at school today and they are asking for the recipe. If I do it again I will add some cinnamon. I don't know if I butchered this recipe, but it was a good starting point for something healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
made very moist and delicious muffins out of it and the best part is that its healthy. Used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and the rest all purpose flour and also 3/4 cup ground flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I doubled the recipe and turned it into muffins so I had something to grab on the go, and it worked great. With doubling the recipe it made about 30 muffins, cooked at 350 for 25 min. I only had 4 bananas and it still tasted great, but probably would have been better with 6. I also didn't have dates and omitted them and used all flax meal since I didn't have any flax seed - which worked just fine. I might try adding some cinnamon next time. Yummy and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
great recipe. i even cut the sugar in half (don't necessarily recommend, i just did it to cut sugar intake) and it was still great. i omitted the dates. it makes 2 mini loaves. i baked for 20 minutes in a dark pan for mini's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I tried to make this recipe many times, with no success. The first time I made it exactly, then I tried some variations, no success still. I tried to like it, but just couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I made this as a surprise for my husband who wanted to add flaxseed to his diet. He loved it and I will make it again...and again!! I substituted the dates with walnuts and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States