Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
So I replaced the sugar cup for cup with honey, replaced the veggie oil with olive oil, and used wheat flour+gluten instead of all-purpose. I added 2TBSP of molases because I like my wheat bread to LOOK like wheat bread and the molasses gives it a darker color. Instead of dates I used craisins, dried blueberries, and golden raisens and added about double what the recipe did. Also, my bananas were not completely smooth, but a little chunky, which made the bread look and taste good too. It came out great! I passed it around to teachers at school today and they are asking for the recipe. If I do it again I will add some cinnamon. I don't know if I butchered this recipe, but it was a good starting point for something healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
made very moist and delicious muffins out of it and the best part is that its healthy. Used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and the rest all purpose flour and also 3/4 cup ground flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I doubled the recipe and turned it into muffins so I had something to grab on the go, and it worked great. With doubling the recipe it made about 30 muffins, cooked at 350 for 25 min. I only had 4 bananas and it still tasted great, but probably would have been better with 6. I also didn't have dates and omitted them and used all flax meal since I didn't have any flax seed - which worked just fine. I might try adding some cinnamon next time. Yummy and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
great recipe. i even cut the sugar in half (don't necessarily recommend, i just did it to cut sugar intake) and it was still great. i omitted the dates. it makes 2 mini loaves. i baked for 20 minutes in a dark pan for mini's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I tried to make this recipe many times, with no success. The first time I made it exactly, then I tried some variations, no success still. I tried to like it, but just couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I made this as a surprise for my husband who wanted to add flaxseed to his diet. He loved it and I will make it again...and again!! I substituted the dates with walnuts and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was delicious. The flax adds so much fiber to stay that "regular" course! I changed the dates to chopped up prunes, which I had on hand, and found they were very sweet and moist. A nice break from regular banana bread. Also, I left out the whole flax because in their whole state, the seeds are not broken down as easily or assimilated as much. I also cut the sugar down 30%. This bread is TO DIE FOR and has become one of my favorite breakfast options. thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Grind all the flax seed or just buy it pre-milled. You get no nutritional benefit from whole seeds, they just pass through you. I also used walnuts instead of dates, and used whole wheat flour instead of white. Also added 1/2 tsp vanilla for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I wouldn't make it again - the flaxseed flavor was too much and husb likes chocolate chips better than dates. I'll stick with traditional banana bran bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
After taking advice from some reviewers and decreasing the sugar to almost half, this bread came out very dry and lacked taste. I doubled the recipe (except for the sugar), so maybe that made a difference. After reading the reviews, I was expecting it to be better, but I was disappointed. I wish I didn't make two loaves. I had to put some leftover cake icing on it to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States