Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
The first time I made this, I made the bread, the second time I made muffins. It was delicious. When I made the muffins I added walnuts and pecans.....Perfect recipie as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was a great recipe. I modified it to be a bit more healthy. I also added a few dried apricots to the dates. I boiled 1 cup of water, removed the pan from heat, and added the dates and apricots, which I let sit in the hot water for 15 minutes to make them tender. I also used about 1/2 cup walnuts and toasted them in the oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes, then set aside. I used only 1/2 cup ground flax seed since I don't like the grainy texture of whole flax seeds. I used 1/8 cup oil instead of 1/4 cup. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. Then I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour. I mixed all the ingredients together, including the nuts. Since I have young kids that love finger foods, I baked these in mini cupcake holders at 350F for 20 min. Thank you for the recipe! I will definitley use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
delicious and easy! love the combination of bananas and dates! i didn't have any flax seed so i used natural wheat bran instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Yesterday evenening, I was looking for flax seed recipes and up came this one. Lo, I had 3 old bananas on the counter just starting to put on spots. I've never made b-bread before. Never liked the taste, but baby, this one was a big surprise ... also very moist. I used a mix of white and wheat flour and a mix of ground hazelnuts and ground flax seed. Didn't have whole flax seeds, so didn't add them. Baked it in a bundt cake form for about 40 min. It was good. Cake was gone from my house by this morning. Verdict from the kids. Make it again. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
A great "go to" healthier basic recipe that you can customize very easily with success! The texture, flavor, and rise was perfect. I removed 2 bananas and added Nutella; used La Tourngelle Walnut Oil; egg WHITES; unbleached Organic Pastry Flour at same timing- check the last 5 min., though, because with Flaxseed it heats faster, just let it cool for 10 minutes- it will continue to cook during this time. Incredibly easy. Fantastically good. Everyone loved its nutty, delicately banana, chocolatey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani7la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Great recipe! Loved it. Made a few changes... used whole wheat flower, ground all the flaxseed, used brown sugar, used 4 bananas instead of 3, and I topped it with chopped walnuts before placing it in the oven. Turned out spectacular :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_alyss1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was a great recipe! I added frozen blueberries to the batter and my husband loved them. I did take the advice of others and only used ground flax seed. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I didn't use dates, i substituted the vegetable oil for applesauce, and I used toasted flax seeds to give it a peanut-y taste. This is absolutely delicious! All it needed was a little of the white sugar substituted for brown sugar. It's real moist and, not to mention, healthy! Great breakfast side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I really love this recipe very simple the only adjustment I made was to add 1/4 cup sour cream and made it into 12 muffin great, moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Wow! You would never guess this was so healthy. I'm going tear up my 1-stick-of-butter-4-eggs-2-cups-of-sugar banana bread recipe and throw it out! I tweaked this one a bit, though. Not that it needs modifications to be good, but I just wanted to change it up a bit. I used only 2 very ripe bananas and it still had a great banana taste. Substituted 4 tb unsweetened applesauce for the oil, used packed brown sugar instead of white, and ended up adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter. Also followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and didn't use the whole flaxseed. I used some mixed dried fruit instead of dates and added only 1/4 cup. Made the batter into 12 muffins, they rose well and came out great. Family loved it. Will be making this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States