Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Loved it! Cut recipe in half and made 1 tiny loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated, except that I used all ground flaxseed. It honestly came out a little dry - I'd recommend using either another banana or a little more oil. It also came out kind of bland, so again I'd recommend another banana or increasing the sugar just by 1/4 cup. The dates didn't do much. I'd add walnuts instead next time. But overall a good recipe. I'd make it again only with the above modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I gave this 4 stars perhaps unfairly since I tweaked the recipe on my first attempt - these are my changes: full cup of ground flax, agave for the sugar, olive oil instead of veg oil, and flaked coconut/some ground almonds (no dates), homemade vanilla extract. Let me tell you - it's great. Incredibly moist, lots of flavor - a perfect healthy snack./breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
just made this an hour ago. my 5 yrs. old daughter can't stop asking for more and requested to make some for her whole classmates to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Lai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I am not a fan of "healthy" versions of most baked goods, but this one is excellent. I used half whole wheat flour, half white; 1/4 c. brown sugar and 1/4 c. white sugar. SOOOO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good, Had no dates, so I used walnuts instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This came out slightly dry for me, so I added big banana chunks into the mix and it baked out so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheOtherHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Like many others, I made a few changes to make it lower carb. I ground all the flax seed, replaced the flour with whole wheat flour and the sugar with agave nectar. I left it at 1/2 cup to make it a little sweeter. I used a few more dates (what I had left after Thanksgiving). I baked it in 3 mini loaves at 325 degrees for 45-50 minutes. My family loved it and my mom was visiting and she wouldn't have guessed it was "healthier". It was very moist. We will definately make this again. My daughter liked it and she isn't into bananas like my son (and my labradoodle, who is addicted to them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I've been searching for the 'perfect' banana bread for a long time... The hunt is over, this is it! This bread is moist, full of flavour, not too sweet and healthy! I tweaked it a bit based on other reviews. I milled the full amount of flax (if left whole your body doesn't absorb any of its health benefits), replaced the oil with half a cup of unsweetened apple sauce, used a full cup (if not a little more) of the dates, threw in a handful of dried cranberries that needed to be used, added an extra banana and to spice it up used a generously heaped teaspoon of ground cinnamon. I topped the loaf with a sprinkling of rolled oats. I baked it for the complete amount of time given in the recipe as 55 minutes wasn't enough in my oven; but I recommend starting off with the minimum amount of time, and checking to see if it's done and baking longer if necessary. I will never use another recipe for banana bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States