Banana Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This recipe was great! I had some dates to use up, so I decided to give it a try. My family loved them. They were moist and delicious, although my 4 year old thought the icing was too lemony, and made me scrape most of it off his pieces. I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Wow, this tastes SO good. I love dates and bananas together and this is no exceptioin. I cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup, didn't add any almonds because I didn't have any on hand, and used dried dates as opposed to the softer, moist ones packaged in plastic (although I'll definitely try to use those next time I make this). The end result was a moist delicious cake-like dessert that is just awesome with the lemon glaze on top. I made this on a whim and out of boredom, but I'll definitely be making this again and again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Quite tasty, even without the frosting. I opted to halve the amount of sugar, as my bananas were fairly ripe and the dates quite sweet on their own. I only had extra large eggs, so this was more like a cake than a dense bar as it rose quite a bit. I mashed the bananas instead of slicing and kept the date whole- would cut them really small next time as my toddler didn't enjoy their texture and picked them out. Will definitely make this again, and you can make this even healthier with other changes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
What a great dessert this is.The only thing I did different was to mash the bananas and coarsely chop the almonds.The lemon icing was fantastic.I love citris so I added a teaspoon of lemon zest too.There isn't a thing that I could add to improve on this.I gave one of my coworkers a piece and he thought it was awesome too.I can't wait for the next time I make this.I'll be taking this to the next potluck dinner at church too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This was an interesting, yummy recipe! The cake is quite sweet, and the icing tart - exactly the opposite of what one might expect of a snacking-type cake. I made a few changes... the thought of big smushy banana chunks in my cake made me shiver - so I substituted the 2 c. sliced bananas for 1 c. mashed bananas - ahhhhh, much better... mild, banana flavour, no chunks, still a very moist cake! Also, I used half whole wheat and half white flour to give it even more of a "health kick". Thanks for an interesting recipe, Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Very good recipe but it more like cake than bars. The only addition I made to the cake was adding 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the batter. The frosting instead of 2 Tbs lemon juice we used the pulp from a fresh lemon & some juice to equal 2 Tbs. I also needed to increase the powdered sugar to 2-1/2 cups. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a truly wonderful recipe. I did change the recipe a bit. Split suger between lt. brwn sugar and white sugar, used 5 ripe bananas - coursely chopped for some added texture and since I love spices - added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of cinn. They can out so moist and the banana flavor is exceptional!!! Do try this recipe. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
WOW! I had overripe bananas and did not want to make bread or cookies. Found this one and it is already in the recipe book. I am eating my 4th piece now! I did make a few changes. I used extra light olive oil instead of butter. Reduced the sugar by 1/2cup and used 1/2 brown/white. I replaced the almonds with walnuts and added coconut. I did not ice it at all. Super yummy. I do think I will reduce the amount of sugar by another 1/2 cup next time. The dates make it plenty sweet. If I was to ice it for taking it to an event, I would definately reduce the sugar. Oh yes, I mashed the bananas. I used 3 very ripe ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
Great combination of date and banana flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Delicious recipe, but comes out more like a cake than bars. Doesn't need icing, but very nice served with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States