Banana Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
WOW! I had overripe bananas and did not want to make bread or cookies. Found this one and it is already in the recipe book. I am eating my 4th piece now! I did make a few changes. I used extra light olive oil instead of butter. Reduced the sugar by 1/2cup and used 1/2 brown/white. I replaced the almonds with walnuts and added coconut. I did not ice it at all. Super yummy. I do think I will reduce the amount of sugar by another 1/2 cup next time. The dates make it plenty sweet. If I was to ice it for taking it to an event, I would definately reduce the sugar. Oh yes, I mashed the bananas. I used 3 very ripe ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Wow, this tastes SO good. I love dates and bananas together and this is no exceptioin. I cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup, didn't add any almonds because I didn't have any on hand, and used dried dates as opposed to the softer, moist ones packaged in plastic (although I'll definitely try to use those next time I make this). The end result was a moist delicious cake-like dessert that is just awesome with the lemon glaze on top. I made this on a whim and out of boredom, but I'll definitely be making this again and again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This recipe was great! I had some dates to use up, so I decided to give it a try. My family loved them. They were moist and delicious, although my 4 year old thought the icing was too lemony, and made me scrape most of it off his pieces. I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This was an interesting, yummy recipe! The cake is quite sweet, and the icing tart - exactly the opposite of what one might expect of a snacking-type cake. I made a few changes... the thought of big smushy banana chunks in my cake made me shiver - so I substituted the 2 c. sliced bananas for 1 c. mashed bananas - ahhhhh, much better... mild, banana flavour, no chunks, still a very moist cake! Also, I used half whole wheat and half white flour to give it even more of a "health kick". Thanks for an interesting recipe, Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a truly wonderful recipe. I did change the recipe a bit. Split suger between lt. brwn sugar and white sugar, used 5 ripe bananas - coursely chopped for some added texture and since I love spices - added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of cinn. They can out so moist and the banana flavor is exceptional!!! Do try this recipe. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We enjoyed this combination of bananas, dates, and almonds. After reading other reviews, I decided to cut the sugar in half and that was about right. I think that the full amount of sugar + sweet dates + frosting = sugar overload. I mashed 2 bananas and sliced 2 more which I folded in at the end with the dates and almonds. If you think you might not frost these, make sure to tuck the banana slices down into the batter as they become discolored on the surface. I think this recipe is enhanced with the frosting. It is just the right amount to cover the top and add zip but not be that overly thick frosting that has become the rage lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These were OK, but I probably won't make them again since there are so many way better recipes on this site. They lasted quite awhile and it's not something I would make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Top quick recipe for making with a toddler. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESEWEASEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Very good recipe but it more like cake than bars. The only addition I made to the cake was adding 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the batter. The frosting instead of 2 Tbs lemon juice we used the pulp from a fresh lemon & some juice to equal 2 Tbs. I also needed to increase the powdered sugar to 2-1/2 cups. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This cake was quite good! I followed the recipe with the exception of mashing my bananas (4 full ones) and adding 1/2 t. cinnamon. I brought it into work and it was well received. I think the addition of the lemon frosting really brightened it up. I added chopped dates to the top to give everyone's palette's a heads up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States