Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
After reading through a number of reviews, I feel it's important to make clear that these are not muffins, nor is this banana bread in a muffin tin--these are definitely cupcakes. Banana bread, of course, has a moist but dense crumb. These are pleasantly sweet, moist, light and fluffy little cakes. And very GOOD cupcakes at that! I used buttermilk powder for the buttermilk, which is always nice for times like this when only a small amount of buttermilk is called for. I skipped the frosting as I was craving a banana/chocolate combo and frosted them with "Chocolate Cream Frosting," also from this site. I tasted one before I even frosted them and had to restrain myself from having another--they were that delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I have tried this recipe once with old bananas, nice and ripe. It really was the most amazing tasting little cakes i have ever had, and they were finished in no time, we honestly could not stop eating. That day, i only really had bananas in the house, hence i didnt have special shortening or buttermilk, so i just replaced them with butter and normal milk. And what a fantastic little cake it was. I didnt even have time to ice them, we ate them all before i could finish the icing. Très très Bon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Excellent! Every time I serve these, I have someone ask me for the recipe. I've made them with buttermilk and with a milk/vinegar combo when I don't have buttermilk on hand, and they always turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These were excellent! We are banana bread snobs and it got a thumbs-up from my husband (his mouth was full of cupcake). Like other reviewers, I used butter instead of shortening, regular milk with a little extra butter (melted) and cream cheese in the frosting. And, they did require a longer cooking time to be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
wonderful recipe! i make it all the time for parties, family dinners, or just whenever i have overly ripe bananas on hand. The recipe is so simple, and everyone loves them! i use cream cheese frosting instead~ it really goes well with the banana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cajoeen
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe!! very moist banana-ey cupcake, it's like a cross between muffin and cake. I do suggest you cut the sugar, i only use 1 and 1/4 cup and it's perfectly sweet. I also substitute half the milk in the icing for lemon juice (to balance all that sugar - giving it a fresher taste). It takes me 30mnts to fully cooked it. (15mnts at 175C and 15mnts at 150C) i turn down the temp because the top's already turned golden brown at the first 15mnts - don't wanna burnt it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Very good, they're definitely cupcakes. Some comments said they tasted like muffins, but they are definitely sweet and cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These turned out pretty good, not really amazing but they taste fine. I don't know if I would make them again, they're kind of a mediocre variation of banana bread, only with frosting. But they were fun to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xx thinkpink xo
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
These were delicious, although I overbaked mine just a tad. I added some dark rum & cinnamon to the batter and some rum flavoring to a brown sugar icing that I found on another website. Very good flavor and a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe! These are perfectly proportioned cupcakes, they come out full and round. They are very light and taste great. I used chocolate icing rather than the butter icing in this recipe. Will keep this recipe on hand for my ripe bananas in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States