Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by yoli
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made it for my Friend birthday, every one loved it. Changes I made, 1. with 1/4 cup buttermilk the batter was way dry I used 1full cup of buttermilk. 2.Used butter instead of shortening 3.used Banana Rum instead of Vanilla 4. Added chocolate chip which made it very tasty. 5. Used Chocolate Frosting for decoration I will make it again but I will follow the changes I made. It was very moist and fluffy very cupcake taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I had to cut the sugar down by 1/3. Otherwise, it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
OMG! hubby said they were the absolute best - and folks at work went "bananas". I added cream cheese frosting for as an extra treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These are so moist! I added cocoa powder to the dry ingredients, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
SO YUMMY! Flavors of banana bread, but light and airy like a cupcake. I substituted butter for shortening, then added a couple teaspoons of mayonnaise to keep the tenderness. I also used a mix of milk and lemon juice for buttermilk. I added a touch of strawberry extract to the frosting, then lightly topped with coconut flakes and chopped walnuts. Really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Had to substitute 1/3 of the sugar with brown sugar since I ran out...will likely repeat this substitute again as they were very tasty! Also added chocolate chips. No icing was needed for me to enjoy them fresh from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Very good cupcakes. I filled two pans. One rose perfectly round and the other deflated. I think the ones that fell were filled a little too high. I frosted them with the Creamy Chocolate Frosting because I absolutely love chocolate and banana together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe is excellent! I didn't have shortening and buttermilk so I used butter and buttermilk substitute (add vinegar to milk-> 1 tablespoon of vinegar for 1 cup of milk) this recipe asks for 1/4 of buttermilk so you can have an idea. I will be making again whenever I have more ripe bananas. Thx for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan75br

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ri2
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Everybody who's said that these are more like muffins and banana bread are way off mark. These are truly light, airy, and really delicious cupcakes and do stay true to everything that Wanda promises. I increased recipe to give 24 cupcakes and managed 30 out of them. I did some of these with metread's 'Cream Cheese Frosting with Brown Butter & Bourbon' recipe, and they were OUT OF THE WORLD. I did the rest with my own proportions of butter,confectioner's sugar and milk and a drop of red colour to make pink ribbons on the cupcakes for breast cancer awareness. These are splendid without frosting. And perhaps if you do want to frost them, you might consider cutting the sugar in the cupcakes a wee bit. P.S: I realised after putting these in the oven to bake, that I'd used butter instead of shortening....but no harm done whatsoever. =) Also, these took me between 15-18 minutes baing time. Thank you Wanda for sharing. This one is a definite keeper. =) P.P.S: Next time, I will cut the sugar down to 1 cup coz ripe bananas tend to lend a lot of sweetness too. (Cut back refers to original recipe for 18 cupcakes and not my increased version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This recipe was easy and tasted great!! I did not get a muffin texture at all. I did not change a thing except cooking time....it took mine a few minutes longer. Hit with the family....my sons took it in their lunches 3 days in a row....that says something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States