Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
These are amazing! Moist...cupcake texture (not dense at all like bread). Fabluous with chocolate frosting. We made them into sock monkey cupcakes for a baby shower and everyone loved them. Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe except used butter instead of shortening. Came out perfect. Tried one without frosting, it was a little chewy like a muffin. I frosted them with the Creamy chocolate frosting from this site. To us they tasted like little banana cakes with frosting, not true cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
amazingly simple recipe & ingredients too.. thankyou! i had no buttermilk so i substituted using yoghurt, loveely...not at all dense nor dry, lite with body of a bite:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by essensual911
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This recipe gives perfect moist semi fluffy/bread texture and rise. Just the way I like cupcakes. I use butter instead of shortening and reduce raw sugar to 1 1/4 c so it won't be too sweet with frosting. It took me a bit longer to bake at 175c. Delicious and will make this again soon. Perfect with peanut butter or chocolate frostings. The original recipe also tastes great without frosting. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essensual911

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
YUMMY! I've been baking a different cupcake every week now for several weeks, and this has been my favorite. Great cake consistency and banana flavor. I am so happy to have a new recipe to use with ripe bananas! I didn't use the above recipe, but the one on AR "Chocolate Ganche". Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda McAnulty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This tastes like the banana bread, just like mom used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frizzle
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good cupcakes! So moist and yummy. I filled with a chocolate filling and topped w/Peanut Butter frosting. Got rave reviews!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnd93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Pretty good. Cupcakes not as moist as I like, but that could be my oven as well! Definitely do not over bake! Check early! The frosting is super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These cupcakes were delicious. I followed the recipe pretty much as described and was awarded with a great cupcake. To give it a little more pizazz, I put a little piece of pineapple in the middle. My daughter said, "this is the best cupcake I've ever had". The reason for the four stars is because the frosting was not spectacular. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I've made this dozens of times (without the frosting) and it's wonderful! I've made a few changes of over time: the recipe scales back to 12 cupcakes well; brown sugar tastes better than white sugar; butter instead of shortening works well; a mix of butter and oil instead of shortening also yields a moist cake; using milk + vinegar works well; using plain milk works well; using almond milk was surprisingly delicious too! A super versatile recipe if you need to play around with it. 5 stars as is AND an extra 5 stars for also being a great base to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States