Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Excellent. Soft and moist cake. I didn't have buttermilk so I just added a little vinegar to the milk. Be sure to use really ripe bananas, the blacker the better for the best banana flavor. Also replace half the butter with creme fraiche in the frosting. If I didn't have creme fraiche on hand I would reduce the butter and add cream cheese. Sprinkle finely chopped and toasted walnut on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
the best banana cupcakes ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
These cupcakes were very good. I thought they were more of a cake-like muffin. I had 3 overripe bananas and they yielded one cup mashed bananas! I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk with a little vinegar. I had to bake them about 5-7 extra minutes. I did not really like the frosting, it had an overwhelming butter taste. Next time I will use a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Yummmmm!!! My family gobbled up these moist cupcakes. The only change I made was using almond milk instead of buttermilk. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Meh. They were alright, but not spectacular. I was trying the recipe out to possibly use for my son's first birthday party, but my search continues. I didn't try the icing, just the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Cupcakes came out just a little more "muffiny" than I was hoping for. I did one batch with dark chocolate chips and one batch plain, by far the chocolate chip batch was the better of the two. Used a fluffy peanut butter frosting recipe which was very good. I will use this recipe again but will use my mini loaf pans and serve more as a banana bread. I will keep searching for a lighter, fluffier banana cupcake recipe. A good friend of mine who is a caterer said that Bananas in her opinion can "create problems in lots of recipes"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UpstateNYgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lake George, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I added mini-chocolate chips and frosted with a dark chocolate buttercream. It was delicious! My only complaint would be that I would have liked them to taste more like banana. But very easy and yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was my first attempt of ever making cupcakes and they were AMAZING!!! I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't be more thrilled with the outcome! Can someone please take them away! Cant wait to make these for my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
What a great simple recipe! I will use my own cream cheese frosting recipe on these...I will definatley make these again! My son just said I should add chocolate chips next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
A great tasting cross between a cupcake and a muffin. I used cream cheese frosting and it tasted great. I made 14 somewhat big cupcakes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States