Banana Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Nice recipe. I made a double batch because I had a bag of peeled bananas in the freezer to use up. I thawed the bananas overnight then ran them through the food processor. I ended up with 3 cups of puree - not quite sure how that relates to the number of bananas called for, but it looked like an appropriate volume so I put it all in. I added cinnamon and vanilla to the muffin batter (about 1 tsp each for the double batch); otherwise, I followed the recipe as listed. The muffins took longer to cook than indicated in the recipe, which could have had to do with the temperature or volume of banana, or the fact I had two pans in the oven. This more of a "cake" type muffin - nice for a special brunch gathering. When I make them again, I will likely cut back a bit on the sugar, and might consider incorporating flax meal and/or whole wheat flour. I'll be keeping the butter though, it adds great flavour. Chopped nuts would be a nice addition to the crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sakers
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
These are great! very moist. I did substitute unsweetened applesauce for the butter and added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1\2 tsp. cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. Also added some dried cranberries and chopped walnuts. Substituted Splenda baking blend and Splenda brown sugar in the topping. My husband is diabetic. I ended up with 14 muffins and they're delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
The best banana muffin recipe, and I've tried many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I made these today. Now I'm not sure if they were supposed to be as brown on top as they were or I may have burned then. Maybe not burned per say. But a little "toasted" anyways my rents like them. They were ok but not great in my opinion. I pulled them out at 18 minutes and the toothpick came out bumpy so I put them back in for a few more minutes which may be why they were slightly "toasted".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I used a gluten-free flour mix and did not do the topping and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Very tasty! I did make alterations: used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla to batter, and made 1 1/2 x the topping recipe to have enough to go around. I also threw in 1/2 c chocolate chips (because we are chocoholics in my house) Made 20 standard size muffins, baked at 360 for 17 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
These are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bboysmom21
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Absolutely delicious! My 7 year old loved helping make these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arielle Wenerstrom
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These turned out great! I used my stand mixer to mash the bananas and do the blending. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle Wenerstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abiscuitatrisket
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Simple, plain, which is good-but I was hoping for "wow" and didn't get it. Maybe if there were some spices in it instead of just cinnamon on top it would of had more zazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 8,703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States