Banana Cream Pie with Chocolate Lining Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
this pie turned out great, although I made several changes (kind of combining it with another recipe on this site). First, I made a Vanilla Wafer cookie crust rather than graham crackers, and doubled the chocolate layer. Then, after making the filling I mixed in flaked coconut, using vanilla instead of whiskey. I then made a top layer using Cool Whip, and sprinkled with toasted coconut. Before serving, I decorated each serving with chocolate sauce. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Excellent flavor! However, the crust fell apart, so I used another recipe for a graham cracker crust (1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs + 6 Tbsp. butter + 1/2 cup granulated sugar). The bittersweet chocolate/heavy cream mixture was not enough, so I had to double it. I used Irish cream liqueur instead of Irish whiskey, and instead of topping the pie with 1 cup heavy whipping cream (whipped), I used lite whipped topping (like Cool Whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
this is THE BEST banana pudding ever!!i made it for my husband as dessert for valentines day and it was a hit! note: plan to make it a day ahead because the flavors intensify the next day!!ANOTHER KEEPER, thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love this recipe,LOVE how the cream is not banana flavored. However I have made changes that have for me enhanced it. I use Irish Cream instead of Irish whisky and I also do a different crust (I'm not a grahm cracker crust fan) I make a vanilla wafer crust (3 cups crushed vanilla wafers, 1/2 cup chopped toasted almonds and 2/3 cup butter, it makes way more than what a pie pan needs but I have yet to modify it and write it down). So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was amazing! I used amaretto instead of whiskey and added coconut to the whipped cream. My date for the evening was extremely impressed and insisted on taking a couple slices to work the next day. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duffymoon88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I really liked this pie. It was very easy to make. I made it for my boyfriend and he loved it. I made some small changes. I added vanilla to the filling along with the whiskey. I also whipped up some extra cream and folded about a third of it into the filling to make the filling a little lighter tasting. The bittersweet chocolate was an awesome flavor addition. I had to add a little extra cream when I was melting the chocolate so that the chocolate wouldn't seize. The pie was definitely better after chilling for a day. The flavors were much more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pavilion, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
The bittersweet chocolate lining was the only thing that let this recipe down. It was too bitter, I should have used ordinary chocolate or eliminated it altogether. For the base I used dark chocolate digestive biscuits and butter (no sugar) as I don't have Graham Crackers where I live. The custard was yummy but I was worried about it tasting of flour so added extra whisky. Next time I will add a split vanilla bean along with the whiskey. Overall this is a great recipe, just amend it to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This one was okay. I think I should have let the filling boil a little longer because it seemed a little watery. (could also be the rainy weather). My husband and kids liked it, to me it was a little bland. I will use the whiskey next time instead of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Sorry, maybe it was just a matter of personal taste, but I was not impressed with the flavor of this recipe. Texture was good, just wasn't what I thought it would be. I thought the filling was a bit on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States