Banana Cream Pie with Chocolate Lining Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
this pie turned out great, although I made several changes (kind of combining it with another recipe on this site). First, I made a Vanilla Wafer cookie crust rather than graham crackers, and doubled the chocolate layer. Then, after making the filling I mixed in flaked coconut, using vanilla instead of whiskey. I then made a top layer using Cool Whip, and sprinkled with toasted coconut. Before serving, I decorated each serving with chocolate sauce. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Excellent flavor! However, the crust fell apart, so I used another recipe for a graham cracker crust (1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs + 6 Tbsp. butter + 1/2 cup granulated sugar). The bittersweet chocolate/heavy cream mixture was not enough, so I had to double it. I used Irish cream liqueur instead of Irish whiskey, and instead of topping the pie with 1 cup heavy whipping cream (whipped), I used lite whipped topping (like Cool Whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
this is THE BEST banana pudding ever!!i made it for my husband as dessert for valentines day and it was a hit! note: plan to make it a day ahead because the flavors intensify the next day!!ANOTHER KEEPER, thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love this recipe,LOVE how the cream is not banana flavored. However I have made changes that have for me enhanced it. I use Irish Cream instead of Irish whisky and I also do a different crust (I'm not a grahm cracker crust fan) I make a vanilla wafer crust (3 cups crushed vanilla wafers, 1/2 cup chopped toasted almonds and 2/3 cup butter, it makes way more than what a pie pan needs but I have yet to modify it and write it down). So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I really liked this pie. It was very easy to make. I made it for my boyfriend and he loved it. I made some small changes. I added vanilla to the filling along with the whiskey. I also whipped up some extra cream and folded about a third of it into the filling to make the filling a little lighter tasting. The bittersweet chocolate was an awesome flavor addition. I had to add a little extra cream when I was melting the chocolate so that the chocolate wouldn't seize. The pie was definitely better after chilling for a day. The flavors were much more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pavilion, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was amazing! I used amaretto instead of whiskey and added coconut to the whipped cream. My date for the evening was extremely impressed and insisted on taking a couple slices to work the next day. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duffymoon88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This one was okay. I think I should have let the filling boil a little longer because it seemed a little watery. (could also be the rainy weather). My husband and kids liked it, to me it was a little bland. I will use the whiskey next time instead of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
The bittersweet chocolate lining was the only thing that let this recipe down. It was too bitter, I should have used ordinary chocolate or eliminated it altogether. For the base I used dark chocolate digestive biscuits and butter (no sugar) as I don't have Graham Crackers where I live. The custard was yummy but I was worried about it tasting of flour so added extra whisky. Next time I will add a split vanilla bean along with the whiskey. Overall this is a great recipe, just amend it to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Sorry, maybe it was just a matter of personal taste, but I was not impressed with the flavor of this recipe. Texture was good, just wasn't what I thought it would be. I thought the filling was a bit on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States