Banana Cream Pie Made Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Every Banana Cream Pie I have made in the past turned out runny. I loved the thick creamy consistency of this pie. I used a traditional pie crust. I assumed the "heavy cream" stated in the recipe meant whipping cream. So easy to make and my family loved it. Oh, and I skipped the whole ice thing too... not sure why that is in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I made this pie for a family get together...and good thing I divided it between 2 pie shells!!! It went SO fast! And it tastes delicious... I used twice the bananas and a little more whipped cream, but they came out PERFECT! A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H. Royce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was very easy and made enough to generously fill TWO ready-made graham cracker crusts (I used one graham, one chocolate cookie crust). You do not need the ice in this recipe. In fact, I used heavy whipping cream just brought from the store (so it wasn't even all THAT cold) and it worked just fine. The creamy consistency/texture of cream pies is what makes them great. I decided the chunkiness of so many bananas detracted from the creamy texture and the pie as a whole. I will not use as many bananas next time. What bananas I do use will be sliced razor thin. You don't really even need the whipped topping part - or you could put some on each slice when you serve it. This isn't the excellent banana cream pie you'd expect from a great sweet shop -- but it fits the bill in a pinch and you can make as many different flavored pies as they make instant puddings. Couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
i have made this pie MANY times now, and everyone just LOVES it. it's so delicious!!! i've made a few variants... i don't use the ice and i always use LOTS more bananas than the recipe calls for. it can make two regular pies, or one really heaping pie with some leftover filling. I also find that the longer this pie sits in the fridge, the better it gets. it's PERFECT on the third day for breakfast with a cup of black coffee. Everyone LOVES this pie!!! thanks for the successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Just made this and will not make this again. The texture is strange and does not have a strong enough banana flavor. Like others, I found it to be too thick. I ended up adding about a cup of milk at the end to thin out the filling. I haven't tried the finished product but thought I'd write my review now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was great! Very easy and quick. instead of using all heavy cream, I used 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk. I left out the ice. I just made sure the cream and milk were very cold. The mixture thickens very fast. The pie holds it shape very well and does not separate after 24 hours like the cook and serve pie fillings. Like I said this is a great recipe. My husband loved it and so did I.(I do not like banana cream pie.) I will be making this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My wife made this pie for a family pie contest and won! great taste! easy to make. what more could you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deadhead75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This certainly is an easy pie that looks pretty. It was just too thick for our tastes. If any isn't eaten the first day, it gains a rubbery consistency the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very easy and very tasty! I make this one all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meetmow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
[UPDATE 8/2008 : This recipe is foolproof. I made this recently with a pregnant friend of mine, and I left the recipe with her. I found out later she ate all of the pie and then made another one the next day! I too added some vanilla pudding mix and a bit of sugar to the whipped topping. Perfect.] FANTASTIC! I also made a strawberry cream pie with this recipie, subing banana pudding mix with strawberry glaze to taste. BOTH pies were HUGE hits! Handed them out to boyfriend's parents, family friends, and the rest was gobbled up by mom and pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States