Banana Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
There is a mistake here. The volume of whipped cream/pudding/half and half is twice as much as what a 9" crust can hold. My husband's cousin and I laughed at the huge bowl (at least 8 cups) of pure fat that was left over to do what with? Why bother with the small package of vanilla pudding? I would try cutting the whipping cream in half, and maybe doubling the pudding. Also, with only two bananas in this pie, you are just messing with the minds of the people who actually think that they will have the flavor of banana. I was very very disappointed, and peniless after making this pie. Very expensive and nobody could eat it, WAY TOO MUCH FAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This is the BEST banana cream pie ever!! It was so easy and seriously addictive. Everyone who tried it, loved it and said that it tasted like it was from a bakery. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
THE GOOD NEWS: If you follow the directions, this filling will stand up in thick, DELICIOUS peaks. Tastes wonderful! Makes a great looking & tasty pie. THE SO-SO NEWS: This recipe makes enough for two 10" deep dish pies, even with piling the filling up very high. THE BAD NEWS: If the crushed ice is anything but the smallest pieces...and I mean smallest, the ice will catch in the beaters and fling whipping cream ALL OVER THE KITCHEN. I do not have an electric crusher so I used the old standby, hitting the ice with a hammer while contained in a strong plastic bag. I measured a cup of the stuff and put back into the freezer until I was ready to add to the mixture. Some of the pieces aparently froze together, making a larger piece....AND A MESS OF MY KITCHEN. SUMMARY: Would I make again? If I needed 2 pies...yes. If I needed just one....No, not worth buying another appliance just to crush ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I loved this recipe!! I made it for Christmas last year and will make it again!! I can't imagine why anyone would have problems with this pie(review above). It was so easy, you just have to be patient when mixing. It takes a long time, especially if you don't have a stand mixer. Right when you think you did something wrong, it starts to set up and get real thick. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Not impressed. I had to add an extra box of pudding mix just to get it thick enough for as much liquid ingredients as it calls for. Which then adds some time to the preparation. Lucky I had an extra box on hand. Is it worth the 640 calories? - my opinion is no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is so eazy and is very tasty. loved the way it turned out and would recomend this to anybody. yum yum yum !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Webberville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
my only tweak was a little powdered sugar to sweeten it up a little. i work at a restaurant and i used this recipe to make individual pies and they have been a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I tried this recipe because I love whipped cream. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out REALLY runny. I was able to salvage the pie but I would not recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was a great recipe! I took the advise of the other reviews, and made sure to keep mixing (longer than you think it needs). Great thickness! I think next time though, I will use banana flavor pudding to give it extra banana flavor. I thought this was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this with half the whipping cream and half and half and used the banaba pudding instead of vanilla and it was wonderful! I beat it for 15 minutes total and it was never really smooth like pudding, but it didnt matter. One person said it was the best banana cream pie he ever had - not too much flavor but not boring! Not bad for a first try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States