Banana Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This is the BEST banana cream pie ever!! It was so easy and seriously addictive. Everyone who tried it, loved it and said that it tasted like it was from a bakery. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Not impressed. I had to add an extra box of pudding mix just to get it thick enough for as much liquid ingredients as it calls for. Which then adds some time to the preparation. Lucky I had an extra box on hand. Is it worth the 640 calories? - my opinion is no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I loved this recipe!! I made it for Christmas last year and will make it again!! I can't imagine why anyone would have problems with this pie(review above). It was so easy, you just have to be patient when mixing. It takes a long time, especially if you don't have a stand mixer. Right when you think you did something wrong, it starts to set up and get real thick. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
THE GOOD NEWS: If you follow the directions, this filling will stand up in thick, DELICIOUS peaks. Tastes wonderful! Makes a great looking & tasty pie. THE SO-SO NEWS: This recipe makes enough for two 10" deep dish pies, even with piling the filling up very high. THE BAD NEWS: If the crushed ice is anything but the smallest pieces...and I mean smallest, the ice will catch in the beaters and fling whipping cream ALL OVER THE KITCHEN. I do not have an electric crusher so I used the old standby, hitting the ice with a hammer while contained in a strong plastic bag. I measured a cup of the stuff and put back into the freezer until I was ready to add to the mixture. Some of the pieces aparently froze together, making a larger piece....AND A MESS OF MY KITCHEN. SUMMARY: Would I make again? If I needed 2 pies...yes. If I needed just one....No, not worth buying another appliance just to crush ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is much too rich with all the heavy cream. I used a 10 inch graham cracker pie shell which was a much better presentation as well as better tasting. I also added at least one more banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
5 Stars because the final result was GREAT! Wow, what a pie! The texture and taste was amazing - substantially creamy but also light and fluffy. It was fairly easy to make. What I changed, however: used only 2 cups of whipping cream and 1 cup of half-and-half (I just could not bring myself to use all that cream!), did not use the ice. Could only find banana instant pudding in the store, so I used that instead of vanilla. My crust was graham cracker, and the final pie was topped with coconut flakes. Despite cutting the ingredients in half, I still had plenty of filling left over, and made little parfaits from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
A whole lot of fluff . This pie presents itself well, however I waisted alot of filling and that was dissapointing. I could have made two 10 inch pies from this recipe if not more. My father-in-law loved it, my husband thought it lacked flavor. He said it tasted like a whipped cream pie. Next time, I would probably do as one of the others said and reduce the cream to half and maybe add vanilla or more pudding to enhance the flavor. I give it 4 stars because it does make a beautiful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
There is a mistake here. The volume of whipped cream/pudding/half and half is twice as much as what a 9" crust can hold. My husband's cousin and I laughed at the huge bowl (at least 8 cups) of pure fat that was left over to do what with? Why bother with the small package of vanilla pudding? I would try cutting the whipping cream in half, and maybe doubling the pudding. Also, with only two bananas in this pie, you are just messing with the minds of the people who actually think that they will have the flavor of banana. I was very very disappointed, and peniless after making this pie. Very expensive and nobody could eat it, WAY TOO MUCH FAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This pie is awesome, just be sure not to over beat it or it gets too firm to get in the pie shell. This is the best pie I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Best banana cream pie ever! sooo good i dont understand how anyone could have a problem with this pie so easy a six year old could make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States