Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is the Banana Pie recipe I've been looking for. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and used a vanilla wafer crust. My custard set up fine after about 1/2 hour of stirring and carefully watching over on the stove. It wasn't runny at all. However, my pie ended up being rather soupy the next day. It was more like a pudding. I'm not sure what happened because after cooking the custard it was very thick and creamy. I will try again because this is hands down the best pie Banana pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very, very good! I added a meringue topping before baking. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
So yummy!! I melted some chocolate and spread it along the bottom before I put in the bananas and the pudding mix. The little bit of chocolate was a great extra. THe second time I made this I made it on a graham cracker pie shell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Okay so I have made this twice and think I have stumbled onto something. I made as directed both times except I used less sugar and chilled instead of baked. The first time when I went to eat a slice it was complete soup! It was so disappointing because everything was PERFECT before I put I covered it and put it in the fridge. The second time I did all the same stuff but I left it UNCOVERED in the fridge. Set up PERFECTLY! This recipe is so delicious. I like to mash up half a banana and add it to the pudding so the flavor is more than vanilla. TASTY! I can't speak to everyone but when I covered it and put it in the fridge it turned into banana cream soup and when I left nothing over it the pie set up perfectly! Hopefully this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
WOW!!! This pie is outstanding!! The pudding filling is the best I've ever had! I used cornstarch instead of flour. Perfect recipe. Beyond words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this pie this morning and it's so easy and tastes absolutely wonderful.I made it right by the recipe except I did add 2 tsp of starch in addition to the flour,I wanted to be sure my pie set up and I did not bake it either.Just to help it set up faster I put pudding in bowl with plastic wrap for about an hour before I assembled the pie.I was weary this would not be good and I was so wrong.I cut it tonight for dessert and it's beautiful and good,I topped with sweetened whipping cream as I plated the pie,so go ahead and make this pie!It's spot on!Thanks for the great recipe.Happy girl in Ga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Great recipe! my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This pie turned out great. The pudding was easy to make and didn't require any ingredients that I didn't readily have on hand. The sauce thickened up nicely and had a creamy smooth consistency. The only thing I was unsure about was the pie crust. I had some extra dough from a previous pie that I was able to use but had never pre-baked a crust before. While it was baking, it started to puff up and shrink in toward the center so I had to spread it out while baking. My mother told me though that poking holes in the bottom of the crust before pre-baking helps to prevent that, so I'll try that next time. Overall this pie was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Wilczek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was so easy to make. I adjusted the serving size to 12 for a deep dish pie. I took note from the comments and used whole milk. It turned out perfectly. Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Amazing pie! I always thought for some reason that making homemade banana cream pie was difficult. Not so! I did not bake this pie per instructions, as after reading all the reviews it seemed that was the consensus. Let it sit in the fridge overnight and the custard was PERFECT! I used whole milk, which I believe it important. Have patience while waiting for the custard to come together and thicken. It's worth the wait! I decided to slice my bananas directly into the custard and then put this mixture into my shell, smoothing out. When I served it someone asked if I had put lemon on my bananas because of how white they were. I think that I sliced into the custard and mixed it right away, coated them and therefore prevented the ugly browning. I also did it this way because I didn't want the fruit on top of itself, and instead wanted it mixed throughout. Super good. Try it, you'll love it! Thanks Ruby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 922) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States