Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Too runny! Looked like a soup not a pie.. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Mine was also runny what the recipe fails to say is that once you add milk you whisk it until it gets THICK & bubbly like if it was lava. When you whisk it creates bubbles so that's when I stopped and didn't wait for it to thicken was very runny and had a lot of pudding mix left over will try it again and add cornstarch instead as many of other reviews suggested . Was also just told by aunt that I have to whisk it for a good 10 to 15 min in low heat before it thickens if that helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I followed EXACTLY and it came out PERFECT! I used flour and 2% milk. I would imagine using skim would likely cause it to be runny. The key is adding the milk slowly and cooking over medium heat. I made 2 pies separately and followed the recipie exactly both times with no problems. Someone wrote you should never use flour in pies. I use it all the time over cornstarch, it's personal preference and I stand by it. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I love the pudding filling! I like to mash 2 of the bananas and add those to the pudding rather than slicing them into the bottom of the pie. Then there is more yummy banana flavor throughout! I also do not bake this pie! Add some cool whip to the top once cooled and it is banana cream pie perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The taste was good but too liquidy. Even when I followed the directions and leave It over night covered in the refrigerator. It was still soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The pie is definitely runny but it's totally delicious. I think the 15 minute time to bake is too short and needs to be increased, else you have a banana pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed ALL the instructions very precisely and it came out like a soupy substance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Thank you Ruby for posting a delicious recipe that doesn't use packaged vanilla pudding mix. It was very sweet for us. The next time we make this we will cut the sugar down to 1/2 a cup. We also needed to simmer the pudding for at least ten minutes in order for it to be thick enough to stay put. After letting it rest in the fridge all night, we didn't bake it either, it still was not completely set. The next time we will make sure to simmer for 15 minutes and then test to see if the custard is thick enough. We will definitely be making this again when we have too many over-ripe bananas. Thank you Ruby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this last night. It was a hit!!! After reading the reviews, I used 3 tbsps cornstarch instead of flour and did not bake the pie. It was fantastic. I cooked the mixture on the stove top until it was very thick and bubbly. No problems with it being soupy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is the Banana Pie recipe I've been looking for. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and used a vanilla wafer crust. My custard set up fine after about 1/2 hour of stirring and carefully watching over on the stove. It wasn't runny at all. However, my pie ended up being rather soupy the next day. It was more like a pudding. I'm not sure what happened because after cooking the custard it was very thick and creamy. I will try again because this is hands down the best pie Banana pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States