Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I've made this pie twice. The first time it was absolutely out of this world! Best banana cream pie I've ever had. It was so good that I served it at a dinner party. This time I made two - one with Splenda, and one with regular white sugar. The one with Splenda had a funny taste to it, but it set up very nicely. The flavor could have been from the Splenda, but I've never had a funny taste from that. The sugar one was soupy, but I was told that it had a much better flavor than the other. I don't know what I did wrong. Maybe I didn't cook it enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Thanks to comments I didn't bake. This is the FIRST time I have made pudding & I'm a senior! I couldn't believe how easy it was. Might use less sugar next time. This was so much better than the ones using Jello pudding mix that I made when the kids were little. Going to try cocoanut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Awesome after considering the reviews and recommendations of everybody else! The pie doesn´t need to be baked if instead of flour you use the 3 tbspn of corn starch! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
The bananas turned brown and mushy within hours of making the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I have to honest, I was a little intimidated to make this because I didn't want banana soup. The bad reviews worried me. After reading through about 75 reviews and 2 days later, I went for it. Only thing I did after reading reviews is, cooked the custard for longer until it got to a nice thick consistency. I added diced banana to the custard and I DID NOT bake it. I only baked the crust. I used everything else the recipe called for. My family loooooooooved it and want me to make another. Success! I am an amateur as baking too. I don't do this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Excellent made EXACTLY HOW WRITTEN!!! Folks who got a runny pie...please be sure to use WHOLE MILK and COOK THE PIE and REFRIGERATE THE PIE before serving...if not, of course it'll be runny, lol! This recipe is perfect...follow the directions and you won't be disappointed ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
HELP! I made this pie with alterations (3tbsp corn starch, used whole milk, simmered milk separately before adding corn starch/sugar mixture, and simmered about 2 min after all ingredients were mixed). The mixture had a perfect creamy pudding consistency after it was done simmering. As recommended by other users, I didn't bake the pie. I let it cool about an hour before putting it in the fridge for 3 hours. The mixture never set!! It was a huge pudding-y mess. After 5 hours in the fridge, I brought the pie to room temp and baked it at 350 for 20 min (thinking maybe the original author was right). It did set up a bit, but only to a firm custard consistency. The pie is delicious, but an absolute mess. What did I do wrong? Did I not simmer enough before each addition?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I did make some slight adjustments based on other reviews, which were to reduce sugar to 1/2 cup, skip baking and use cornstarch instead of flour. Otherwise I prepared it as written and it came out divine! Banana Cream Pie is my dad's favorite dessert and he kept saying it was the best he has ever eaten. I topped it with whipped cream and used a homemade crust, and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Next time would mix the custard into the bananas rather than bake them in layers. The custard comes out very firm (more like jello than pudding). Might also be good to sautee the bananas with butter and brown sugar or honey and maybe some brandy to give them more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Today is Father's Day 2014. My husband loves banana cream pie and rice pudding with raisins. I have lost my grandmother/mother's recipe for custard. This one came through!! However, I am certain flour was never used so I used the 3 T of cornstarch and a little less sugar and no butter. Also, I mixed/whisked the eggs in with the cold milk (2%) and then whisked into the dry ingredients with the burner on. Don't give up, keep whisking, it will thicken. After a quick taste it was rated better than my rum sauce on the bread pudding for a pre-father's day dessert! Boy is he spoiled. (tomorrow back on greens - ha) I gave it a 4 because of my changes, which rated a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States