Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent, even though I forgot the vanilla (doh!). I used corn starch as recommended in the notes above - 3 TBSP instead of 1/3 cup flour, as I agree that corn starch is better for puddings. I also used crushed vanilla wafers mixed with 6 TBSP melted butter baked for 5 min at 350°F (recommended by another reviewer). I didn't bake mine either, to avoid a rubbery layer. I will most definitely make this again, I can see that one would need to learn to gauge when to stop cooking the pudding mix. Mine could have been just a bit firmer, but it was firm enough that it did hold a pie shape (sort of sloughed a bit). Maybe baking it would have helped this. The bananas on the bottom added enough banana flavour that it wasn't apparent there wasn't any vanilla or banana flavouring in the actual pudding. I only ended up using about two bananas. I sliced enough to cover the bottom of the pie plate (before the pudding was added) and then served with a couple rounds on each slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was amazing! I loved that it as all from scratch. It was easy to make and came out beautifully. I did follow someone else's advice by adding a couple teaspoons cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abanana
Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Too runny! Looked like a soup not a pie.. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Mine was also runny what the recipe fails to say is that once you add milk you whisk it until it gets THICK & bubbly like if it was lava. When you whisk it creates bubbles so that's when I stopped and didn't wait for it to thicken was very runny and had a lot of pudding mix left over will try it again and add cornstarch instead as many of other reviews suggested . Was also just told by aunt that I have to whisk it for a good 10 to 15 min in low heat before it thickens if that helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I followed EXACTLY and it came out PERFECT! I used flour and 2% milk. I would imagine using skim would likely cause it to be runny. The key is adding the milk slowly and cooking over medium heat. I made 2 pies separately and followed the recipie exactly both times with no problems. Someone wrote you should never use flour in pies. I use it all the time over cornstarch, it's personal preference and I stand by it. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I love the pudding filling! I like to mash 2 of the bananas and add those to the pudding rather than slicing them into the bottom of the pie. Then there is more yummy banana flavor throughout! I also do not bake this pie! Add some cool whip to the top once cooled and it is banana cream pie perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The taste was good but too liquidy. Even when I followed the directions and leave It over night covered in the refrigerator. It was still soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The pie is definitely runny but it's totally delicious. I think the 15 minute time to bake is too short and needs to be increased, else you have a banana pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed ALL the instructions very precisely and it came out like a soupy substance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Thank you Ruby for posting a delicious recipe that doesn't use packaged vanilla pudding mix. It was very sweet for us. The next time we make this we will cut the sugar down to 1/2 a cup. We also needed to simmer the pudding for at least ten minutes in order for it to be thick enough to stay put. After letting it rest in the fridge all night, we didn't bake it either, it still was not completely set. The next time we will make sure to simmer for 15 minutes and then test to see if the custard is thick enough. We will definitely be making this again when we have too many over-ripe bananas. Thank you Ruby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States