Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The taste was good but too liquidy. Even when I followed the directions and leave It over night covered in the refrigerator. It was still soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The pie is definitely runny but it's totally delicious. I think the 15 minute time to bake is too short and needs to be increased, else you have a banana pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed ALL the instructions very precisely and it came out like a soupy substance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Thank you Ruby for posting a delicious recipe that doesn't use packaged vanilla pudding mix. It was very sweet for us. The next time we make this we will cut the sugar down to 1/2 a cup. We also needed to simmer the pudding for at least ten minutes in order for it to be thick enough to stay put. After letting it rest in the fridge all night, we didn't bake it either, it still was not completely set. The next time we will make sure to simmer for 15 minutes and then test to see if the custard is thick enough. We will definitely be making this again when we have too many over-ripe bananas. Thank you Ruby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this last night. It was a hit!!! After reading the reviews, I used 3 tbsps cornstarch instead of flour and did not bake the pie. It was fantastic. I cooked the mixture on the stove top until it was very thick and bubbly. No problems with it being soupy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is the Banana Pie recipe I've been looking for. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and used a vanilla wafer crust. My custard set up fine after about 1/2 hour of stirring and carefully watching over on the stove. It wasn't runny at all. However, my pie ended up being rather soupy the next day. It was more like a pudding. I'm not sure what happened because after cooking the custard it was very thick and creamy. I will try again because this is hands down the best pie Banana pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very, very good! I added a meringue topping before baking. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
So yummy!! I melted some chocolate and spread it along the bottom before I put in the bananas and the pudding mix. The little bit of chocolate was a great extra. THe second time I made this I made it on a graham cracker pie shell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Okay so I have made this twice and think I have stumbled onto something. I made as directed both times except I used less sugar and chilled instead of baked. The first time when I went to eat a slice it was complete soup! It was so disappointing because everything was PERFECT before I put I covered it and put it in the fridge. The second time I did all the same stuff but I left it UNCOVERED in the fridge. Set up PERFECTLY! This recipe is so delicious. I like to mash up half a banana and add it to the pudding so the flavor is more than vanilla. TASTY! I can't speak to everyone but when I covered it and put it in the fridge it turned into banana cream soup and when I left nothing over it the pie set up perfectly! Hopefully this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
WOW!!! This pie is outstanding!! The pudding filling is the best I've ever had! I used cornstarch instead of flour. Perfect recipe. Beyond words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States