Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Totally simple, totally tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvePenman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I made it without adding a crust. I topped it with Cool Whip and ate it like a pudding. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
You can't be serious about step 4--bake for 15 min? No wonder everyone's pie is soupy! DON'T BAKE THIS PIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is my go-to banana cream pie recipe. A lot of people in our family are not cake lovers, so I always offer this pie as an alternative, and they all love it! So easy, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
It's very easy to cook and so juicy, but too sweet. I think I will reduce sugar next times I cook. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virut Kasemtanasak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I substituted almond milk for whole milk. I'd read this would keep the pudding/custard from thickening without the casein in milk. To offset this, I added 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt (a dairy product I thought might have casein). Fearing that was not enough, in lieu of 3 tablespoons flour, I added 1.5 tablespoons rice flour, 4 tablespoons corn starch and 1.5 tablespoons tapioca starch. The end result was a pretty good pudding texture that everyone loved, so it worked, but next time I might try to simplify my substitutions, rather than taking this "kitchen sink" approach. Oh, I also blended a ripe banana with the 4 cups of almond milk so the custard filling would have some banana flavor and I liked the result of that. Lastly, I did not bake this, I had just finished a no-bake strawberry pie that followed similar steps and assumed this was same way. So I layered my sliced bananas (tossed first with a bit of lemon juice) in pre-baked shell, poured in the custard (after letting it cool for 2-3 hours in fridge) and then the remaining bananas artistically set into the top, then the whole thing put in freezer for an hour (to speed up it "setting"), then in fridge for 5-6 hours, then served. No baking after bananas were in the pie. Turned out great, good texture and everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Made this for my grandson who loves banana cream pie. He and the rest of the family enjoyed this immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe. Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was good, but way too sweet. I'd cut the sugar in half next time. I did have to bake it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for, too. Not sure if my oven is cool or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made a double batch. It was very soupy (the bottom bananas ended up floating before baking, and it was soupy after chilling too), and a little floury, but I scooped it up into mugs with whipped cream and the boys loved it anyway. Barely fit in the 9 inch deep dish pie tin, with only one layer of bananas. I couldn't get four bananas in one tin without it almost overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeyrCat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 913) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States