Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
did not begin to set up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I think I overcooked the pie crust, though (pre-baked it a liiiitle too long, methinks.) Absolutely love the pudding, made some this morning for myself as a treat (the pie was gone so quickly last night!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This pie did not make it through the chilling process because my family devoured it! It tasted awesome a little warm. The only thing I did differently is I used 1 1/2 full egg instead of just three yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I think that you don't need to bake it otherwise the bananas turn really dark. Also, it would be better to mix a puree of bananas into the pudding but it certainly does taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Like everyone else, I used cornstarch to prepare the pudding, not flour. I also only added 1/2 cup sugar as we don't like things too sweet in our house. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is and it was pretty good. Personally, I think it tasted too strong of vanilla - but that is more of a personal preference thing. Otherwise, everything came together great and my family enjoyed the pie. I did follow someone's tip to dip the bananas in lemon juice (which I diluted in club soda as I thought it would make the banana too lemony!) - I think that should be an added step in this recipe; oh and I didn't bake it! That is the main reason I'm taking off a star - banana cream pie should not be baked and that just sounds like a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great taste, rich pudding and fairly easy to make. Loved it. Didn't solidify really but I ignored the bake in the oven step. I will use this recipe again for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I used the Nilla wafer crust as another writer/chef suggested and it was fabulous! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this pie for a New Year's Day dinner. I used the a vanilla wafer crust recipe which I brushed lightly with an egg white wash before baking to prevent the crust from becoming soggy after filling it. I used whole milk and 3 tablespoons of cornstarch instead of flour and it thickened up great. I did not bake this pie as many reviewers mentioned and it turned out great. After cooking, I placed the mixture in the frig and sealed it with saran wrap to prevent it from developing a skin. Once cooled, I layered it with the bananas in the cooled crust. I also topped it with homemade whipped cream. It received rave reviews and I will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was 5 stars because it was easy and delicious. I'm no cook and have never made filling from scratch, but I read the reviews and took heed to make sure I cooked the filling long enough. I also used the Nilla Wafer pie crust that was suggested, which was a nice complement to the banana. I'll note that when I started making it, I realized I didn't have any vanilla extract, so I cooked and stirred until my husband got back from the store. Likely for this reason, I didn't have the problem with the filling being thin that others have noted. I filled the whole crust with the bananas and just filled the pie crust afterwards (in hind sight, I should have layered a little more as there were some nana bits that were not part of the "pudding"). I DID NOT cook it, and am glad for that information. It was perfect just chilled and we added topping before eating it. Great recipe which I will try again! Thanks for an easy, delicious Christmas dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States