Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Turned out just as the recipe stated. It was quite simple. Tasty. My bf loved it. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leilani13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I have never made pudding or a cream pie before and I can't believe how well this turned out! I read the reviews ahead of time and decided to follow the recipe exactly through step 2, using whole milk and real vanilla. Then I left the pudding out on the counter until it was completely cool, stirring every 15 minutes or so. That took about an hour. After that, I spread a little pudding on the bottom of the pie crust (made from vanilla wafers), and topped with slices from one banana. I repeated the layers for two more bananas, making sure to cover all the spaces with pudding so there was no trapped air to turn the bananas brown. After I used 3 bananas the pie dish was full, so I didn't use a 4th one. I covered the pie with plastic wrap, using toothpicks to keep the wrap off the surface, and then chilled in the fridge overnight (no baking - per the other reviews). To serve, I topped each slice of pie with a dollop of whipped cream and a slice of banana. It was excellent and got rave reviews at our Mother's Day dinner! I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiffanybakes
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This pie was really good. I made a homemade Nilla wafer crust instead of using a tradition pie crust. That really set it over the top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanybakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Me and my husband made it and we did not like it very much. It was too runny and kinda way too sweet. But thank you for sharing the recipe , we like to try new things! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Ok, this pie is amazing! I read a lot of reviews and was about to use cornstarch and not bake it until I read a different review. She said this is not instant pudding... this is a french method, DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING and bake it. She was right. I think that for the people that came out with a runny pie, they either were using skim milk, or were not patient enough during the stirring part. If you follow exactly what she says to do (i pre-measured everything and had it ready beforehand) and add things exactly when she says to, it will come out extremely thick. It takes constant stirring at medium heat for a while before the edge will begin to bubble. Once that happens, thats when you continue to stir for 2 minutes and remove from heat, add a little to the egg, pour egg mixture back into pot and cook for a further 2 mins etc... After i finished making it, i let it cool completely. i used a chilled graham cracker pie crust i made and lined it with sliced bananas. I stirred in another sliced banana into the mixture and poured that on top. I then baked it as it said and that only helped it set and brought out an aroma! smelled delicious. i let it cool completely and it put back in fridge until ready to serve. I then decorated top with sliced bananas around the rim like in the picture. I served with freshly made whipped cream. It tasted like something out of a french bakery and I'm no baker! It is perfect the way the recipe is... no need to change anything, DO bake it, and no need
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I did not bake this at all. And I used a graham cracker crust instead. It came out great. My siblings agreed that it put up a challenge to Bakers Square's Banana Cream Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley M Stevenson
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
One word. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley M Stevenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
In all fairness I don't even like banana pie, but nobody in the house liked this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qnkelly
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was so easy to make. I used Kate's vanilla wafer crust and added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch like carthecook added in her rating. Thanks to you both my pie turned out great! My picky four-year-old loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
So easy!! The most delicious banana cream pie I've ever had. My family was delighted. I will definitely try Kate's suggestion for the Nila wafer crust next time. For those of you with runny or soupy pie, try these two suggestions: 1. Have a cocktail before you cook. 2. Try Schwans.com or run to Marie Callender's. I am by no means a great cook and I found this recipe to be so easy. Relax when you cook it should be fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States