Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Made this per my boyfriend's request, he was very happy. It was very easy, I used light cream instead of milk. For those who found it runny, with these types of pies I found through trial & error :) that you have to follow the directions to the letter. Such as 'cook for another 2 min' 'remove from burner' etc. I used the amounts in the recipe & used the 1/3 cup flour, the cream came out very thick, creamy & smooth. Very nice with the vanilla. Very happy to find this, will probably do the coconut too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I love this recipe! It is MUCH better than the box pudding mix. I think step 4 is referring to the crust only. DON'T BAKE WHOLE PIE - JUST CRUST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fabie Zimm
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This pie was delicious. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch, upped the vanilla a bit, and cooked for a lot longer (10mins) to turn it into a custard consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I have been making this recipe for 40+ years! My family loves it with a prebaked graham cracker crust. Tip: DO NOT BAKE, immediately after pouring the custard into the crust, place plastic wrap directly onto the hot filling to seal. This will prevent it from forming a rubbery skin. Refrigerate overnight. It's a great make ahead dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Totally simple, totally tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvePenman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I made it without adding a crust. I topped it with Cool Whip and ate it like a pudding. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is my go-to banana cream pie recipe. A lot of people in our family are not cake lovers, so I always offer this pie as an alternative, and they all love it! So easy, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
It's very easy to cook and so juicy, but too sweet. I think I will reduce sugar next times I cook. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virut Kasemtanasak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I substituted almond milk for whole milk. I'd read this would keep the pudding/custard from thickening without the casein in milk. To offset this, I added 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt (a dairy product I thought might have casein). Fearing that was not enough, in lieu of 3 tablespoons flour, I added 1.5 tablespoons rice flour, 4 tablespoons corn starch and 1.5 tablespoons tapioca starch. The end result was a pretty good pudding texture that everyone loved, so it worked, but next time I might try to simplify my substitutions, rather than taking this "kitchen sink" approach. Oh, I also blended a ripe banana with the 4 cups of almond milk so the custard filling would have some banana flavor and I liked the result of that. Lastly, I did not bake this, I had just finished a no-bake strawberry pie that followed similar steps and assumed this was same way. So I layered my sliced bananas (tossed first with a bit of lemon juice) in pre-baked shell, poured in the custard (after letting it cool for 2-3 hours in fridge) and then the remaining bananas artistically set into the top, then the whole thing put in freezer for an hour (to speed up it "setting"), then in fridge for 5-6 hours, then served. No baking after bananas were in the pie. Turned out great, good texture and everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Made this for my grandson who loves banana cream pie. He and the rest of the family enjoyed this immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 946) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States