Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
In all fairness I don't even like banana pie, but nobody in the house liked this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qnkelly
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was so easy to make. I used Kate's vanilla wafer crust and added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch like carthecook added in her rating. Thanks to you both my pie turned out great! My picky four-year-old loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
So easy!! The most delicious banana cream pie I've ever had. My family was delighted. I will definitely try Kate's suggestion for the Nila wafer crust next time. For those of you with runny or soupy pie, try these two suggestions: 1. Have a cocktail before you cook. 2. Try Schwans.com or run to Marie Callender's. I am by no means a great cook and I found this recipe to be so easy. Relax when you cook it should be fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Harris
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
LOVED this recipe!! I've made it for my hubby many times and it's his favorite. I have also made it dairy & soy free replacing milk and butter with Almond milk and Earth Balance butter since I have allergies and it still turned out absolutely delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Harris
Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe out a couple of times (I used the cornstarch one) and my family loved it! Substituting the bananas with things like 5 tablespoons of cocoa powder or adding coconut doesn't change how well this works! My favorite was putting in the cocoa with baking chocolate chips! It is an amazing thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was so good and a huge hit with my family. Due to lactose intolerance in my house, I used unsweetened original almond milk. Other than that, I followed the recipe's ingredients with the flour, yolks, vanilla, etc. I skipped the baking as advised by other reviewers. It was not runny at all! Will def. be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yum! Made tarts instead of oie, topped with fresh whipped creme. Did use a touch less sugar. Good vanilla pudding that works with the banana, not overpowering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpioneermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I just tried this recipe. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
It was a little liquidy but it was SO GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent, even though I forgot the vanilla (doh!). I used corn starch as recommended in the notes above - 3 TBSP instead of 1/3 cup flour, as I agree that corn starch is better for puddings. I also used crushed vanilla wafers mixed with 6 TBSP melted butter baked for 5 min at 350°F (recommended by another reviewer). I didn't bake mine either, to avoid a rubbery layer. I will most definitely make this again, I can see that one would need to learn to gauge when to stop cooking the pudding mix. Mine could have been just a bit firmer, but it was firm enough that it did hold a pie shape (sort of sloughed a bit). Maybe baking it would have helped this. The bananas on the bottom added enough banana flavour that it wasn't apparent there wasn't any vanilla or banana flavouring in the actual pudding. I only ended up using about two bananas. I sliced enough to cover the bottom of the pie plate (before the pudding was added) and then served with a couple rounds on each slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States