Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
HELP! I made this pie with alterations (3tbsp corn starch, used whole milk, simmered milk separately before adding corn starch/sugar mixture, and simmered about 2 min after all ingredients were mixed). The mixture had a perfect creamy pudding consistency after it was done simmering. As recommended by other users, I didn't bake the pie. I let it cool about an hour before putting it in the fridge for 3 hours. The mixture never set!! It was a huge pudding-y mess. After 5 hours in the fridge, I brought the pie to room temp and baked it at 350 for 20 min (thinking maybe the original author was right). It did set up a bit, but only to a firm custard consistency. The pie is delicious, but an absolute mess. What did I do wrong? Did I not simmer enough before each addition?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I did make some slight adjustments based on other reviews, which were to reduce sugar to 1/2 cup, skip baking and use cornstarch instead of flour. Otherwise I prepared it as written and it came out divine! Banana Cream Pie is my dad's favorite dessert and he kept saying it was the best he has ever eaten. I topped it with whipped cream and used a homemade crust, and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Next time would mix the custard into the bananas rather than bake them in layers. The custard comes out very firm (more like jello than pudding). Might also be good to sautee the bananas with butter and brown sugar or honey and maybe some brandy to give them more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Today is Father's Day 2014. My husband loves banana cream pie and rice pudding with raisins. I have lost my grandmother/mother's recipe for custard. This one came through!! However, I am certain flour was never used so I used the 3 T of cornstarch and a little less sugar and no butter. Also, I mixed/whisked the eggs in with the cold milk (2%) and then whisked into the dry ingredients with the burner on. Don't give up, keep whisking, it will thicken. After a quick taste it was rated better than my rum sauce on the bread pudding for a pre-father's day dessert! Boy is he spoiled. (tomorrow back on greens - ha) I gave it a 4 because of my changes, which rated a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Make sure you use corn starch instead of flower. I mashed up a cup of bananas and tossed that in with the pudding when I added the egg yolks. This made it so tasty. I put bananas on the bottom then a layer of pudding then another layer of cut up bananas and another layer of pudding. Slid it into the fridge and let it cool and set. So can't wait. Licked the pudding bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brye Shell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Just finished having a slice of this AMAZING pie! I always make a recipe as suggested the first time around, then tweak to my own version of perfection. Here's what I did that made everyone say it was the "best banana cream pie they've ever had"...For the milk, I used 1 cup half n half and 1 cup whole milk. This ensures your filling will not be soupy. I had an overripe, brown, banana that I mashed and added to the pudding. This made the pudding a banana flavor instead of vanilla, but not overpowering. Lastly, I made home made whipped cream for the topping with 1 cup heavy cream, 1 tsp. vanilla and 3 Tbsp. powdered sugar. I decorated the top with banana slices and Nilla wafers. You won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Easy and delish! But next time I will use less sugar..I find it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe is made even better if you finely chop up some banana and mix it into the pudding just before you put it in the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Do no understand why people are saying it's runny, did you actually allow the pudding mix to cook until it thickened? That's you fault, not the recipes. However, this recipe is fantastic! It turned out beautifully, and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Turned out just as the recipe stated. It was quite simple. Tasty. My bf loved it. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leilani13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 898) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States