Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Excellent! First time making home-made pudding and surprisingly simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Wonderful, except just a tad bit salty. Will add less in the future. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Even though my pie turned out like soup, it was DELICIOUS! After making it, I read other reviews, and realized what I did wrong. So to reiterate other people's instructions: cook the custard until it is thick and do not use skim milk. But again, despite the thinning that was my own fault, this pie is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This pie is fantastic- everyone asks for it again and again. The pudding is so easy and so delish... I will never use Jello pudding again. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was my first time making a cream pie and I love it, I made two for my families gathering on mothers day. I was a bit nervous about doing it so I made sure to read through the comments with what people had problems with. I found that a fair amount of peoples pudding was coming out runny so I googled what would be causing that. I found this on the NPR website the author is Shirley Corriher "Pie fillings contain egg yolks, and egg yolks have an enzyme, alpha-amylase, which just loves to gobble up starch. The recipe tells the cook to heat the filling (bring it to a boil) after the yolks are added. But you need to really bring it to a boil to get all of the filling above 170 degrees Fahrenheit. That's the temperature needed to kill alpha-amylase. This is hard to do — the filling is thick and sticking and going blop, blop, blop. But if you don't get it hot enough, it just takes a few little alpha-amylase to gobble away like Pac-Man — and there goes all the starch that was holding your filling nice and firm."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Good consistency if you cook the flour mixture long enough and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I've had this same basic recipe for years. For those who have trouble making it thicken, use a 1/2 cup flour and replace 1 cup milk with heavy whipping cream. Makes it rich and thick. yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Idaho Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was amazing, and definitely a keeper! I tried it with both the flour, and the cornstarch. Both had the same flavor, the flour mixture turned out to be a bit thicker, which when pouring over the bananas it didn't work it's way all the way to the bottom, which the cornstarch did. However, the flour kept better in the long run, the cornstarch one kind of lost it's shape within a couple of days and spread throughout the pan and made the crust mushy. So, if you know you will be having company over and eating it all up quickly, I would go with the cornstarch. If it's going to be eaten up slowly, I would be going with the flour version. Either way, it's delicious! We did follow other reviewers advice of making a vanilla wafer crust (MMMMMMMM), and also about not baking (it didn't need to be baked), made a whipped topping to spread over the top, and also toasted some sliced almonds and sprinkled them over the topping. Makes me ready to make another just thinking about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I thought that this was a great recipe. I didn't bake the pie as other reviewers recommended. I also chose to use Graham Cracker Crust I instead of a regular crust. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I used the 3T cornstarch. I probably ended up cooking it on the stove a bit longer than what the recipe stated, but I didn't bake it again at the end. It turned out great! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States