Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Easiest pie I've ever made. (Besides cook and serve, which is totally cheating and doesn't even stack up.) Definitely use 3 Tablespoons of cornstarch in place of the flour, use whole milk if you have it, and unless you want to ruin the pie, DO NOT BAKE IT! I dowsed my 2 bananas on hand with lemon juice, and patted them dry before putting them on the bottom of the crust. Crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AL Spencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is the best custard in this pie and it was so easy to make, I added a little coconut with the bananas before pouring the custard. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
So quick and easy. I used a Graham cracker crust. Definitely going to make it a go to meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This turned out great. Today, Easter, is my first attempt at making this type of pie from scratch. I was surprised, even after reading the reviews at how easy it was to make. I only strayed from the recipe in that I used the corn starch suggestion instead of flour and I increased the amount of banana to five instead of four. I also stirred the sliced banana into the custard mixture instead of over it. I didn't bake the pie but put it straight into the fridge as most reviewers suggested. The filling was very thick and seemed to hold together well even while hot for me. I didn't have any "soupy" problems that some reviewers had. I tasted the filling before filling the crust. It was amazing even hot and I can't wait to serve it for dessert tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Just like Grandmas. I made two...One in a graham cracker shell with bananas and vanilla wafers. That was REALLY good :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Easy and very good, I did use a vanilla wafer crust ( just being Lazy). Topped with whipped cream to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Kar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This recipe was amazing it tastes just like a homemade banana pudding in a pastry shell!! And it is super easy to make. So simple so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made a triple-batch (3 pies) and they came out beautifully! Delicious pudding, great instructions. I did use cornstarch. Remember to temper the eggs like the recipe says (add a bit of hot mixture to the eggs) or they will "scramble" when added to the mixture. I did reduce the sugar from 2 1/4 to 2 cups when making three pies. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Loved it, have made it a few times. It always turns out great. I even made it into a chocolate pie a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made this for Pi day, delicious and easy! Took the advice of other reviewers and did not cook the pie. I used flour not corn starch and a graham cracker crust, topped it with whipped cream. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States