Banana Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I loved how easy this was. I made it for my husbands birthday cake and it was awesome! I left out the rum and added vanilla and I think maybe cutting down on the milk maybe to 3/4 cup or maybe 1/2 cup. I would like it a little thicker. But overall it was real tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I used this recipe to top my son's cupcakes for his second birthday. I cut the milk in half as suggested and left out the rum, using about 2 teaspoons of vanilla instead. I also refrigerated the frosting until right before serving so it would remain thick enough not to slide off the cupcakes. My husband loved the frosting as did my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Tastes like banana cream pie!! I was so glad to have found this recipe since all other frosting/icing recipes called for confectioners sugar, which I didn't have at the time. I used it on the Banana Cake II recipe, to which I added chocolate chips, and it was wonderful! Tips: I used rum extract instead of straight rum. A large wisk makes "folding in" very easy. Quick and easy to make. Thanks Cyndi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I used others people's suggestions and cut back on the amount of milk and the frosting came out perfect!!!! It's light, and airy and full of banana flavor. I am using this frosting on my banana cake recipe, I can not wait to try it on my cake.(I always make my cakes the day before and let the ingredients settle before adding my filling) This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for sharing such an easy, great tasting recipe. My only regret is that I can not give it more stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
It's got a nice mild banana flavor. Not authentic banana since most of its flavor comes from the pudding mix, but it's nice nonetheless. Reducing the milk by half it still wasn't quite as thick as most people would want. Combine the liquid ingredients (milk/rum) last and add as much as you need to get the consistency you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hedelian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
A good choice if you're looking for a whipped cream-based frosting with a banana undertone. I was surprised how subtle the banana was conidering the banana pudding and mashed fresh banana in the recipe. The frozen whipped topping really cut the banana flavor, which I personally liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This is a great little recipe if you want a quick, simple frosting/filling. I added sliced bananas to the middle of a devil's food chocolate cake along with this filling, turned out great. It doesn't make the prettiest cake, just the tastiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Well it tasted great but much to runny. I dont have a food processor I used a hand mixer and still couldn't get it thick. I think like the other lady, the milk should be cut down to 1/2 cup.I have another recipe that calls for a 12 oz tub of cool whip with only 1/2 cup milk and 3 oz cream chease and 1 pudding mix. So how does this one get a full cup of milk? I'll keep working on it because it did taste good. Kept it in the fridge overnight so it wouldn't run. and it was ok then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was very easy and turned out better than I expected. I was using this to frost cupcakes and was worried about it being too runny. I made this about 8 hours before frosting the cupcakes and I let it sit in the fridge to thicken. I didn't have any rum, so I used a little rum extract instead. It turned out to be a creamy frosting with lots of banana flavor, and it didn't run off my cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I used this recipe as a cake filling and it came out great! I added butterscotch to give it even more flavor! I mixed together 1/2 of a 3.4 oz banana cream pudding mix package, 1 whole banana, 1/4 cup whole milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract, and about 15 butterscotch morsels (melted), and 4oz cool whip. I whipped everything together, and used it to fill a 9 inch square yellow cake with plain butter cream frosting. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Freetown, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States